True Crime Book Reviews (page 8)

The Golden Arrow by Lloyd Richardson
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 30, 2015

"A sound sophomore effort with enough espionage fuel to power a future entry in the series."
Two intelligence agents from the United States and India, respectively, work together to stop Iran from launching a nuclear missile at Israel in Richardson's (Dragon's Paw, 2012) political thriller. Read full book review >
Versace’s Medusa: Andrew Cunanan by C. T. Patrick Diamond
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 29, 2015

"A sometimes-entertaining but often overblown and under-imagined fictionalized treatment of an enigmatic crime."
The devil made Andrew Cunanan do it, according to this unfocused novel and meditation on the man who murdered fashion designer Gianni Versace. Read full book review >

THE GOLDEN AGE OF MURDER by Martin Edwards
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 28, 2015

"Fans of Father Brown, Hercule Poirot, or Lord Peter Wimsey will find much of value in this book—which, though long and sometimes too slow, leaves readers wanting more."
Engrossing if occasionally glacial study of the Detection Club, a gathering of British mystery writers who defined the genre. Read full book review >
HOPE by Amanda Berry
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 27, 2015

"A nuanced testament to the complexity of the human spirit."
On May 6, 2013, electrifying headlines revealed news of the escape of three young women who had been missing for more than 10 years and presumed dead but were in fact held captive by Ariel Castro, a depraved Cleveland school bus driver. Read full book review >
THE JOB by Steve Osborne
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 21, 2015

"Despite their anecdotal nature, these punchy policing tales seem provocatively true to life."
Raucous recollections from a career as a New York City cop, from a veteran of The Moth storytelling series. Read full book review >

ONE OF US by Åsne Seierstad
CURRENT AFFAIRS
Released: April 21, 2015

"Rather diffuse but thoroughly grounded in documented fact—as a result, it packs all the frightening power of a good horror novel."
A chilling descent into the mind of mass murderer Anders Breivik. Read full book review >
TRUE CRIME
Released: April 14, 2015

"For a wide-angle view of the horrific string of crimes start to finish, Glatt constructs an absorbing winner."
Journalist and seasoned true-crime writer Glatt (The Prince of Paradise: The True Story of a Hotel Heir, His Seductive Wife, and a Ruthless Murder, 2013, etc.) recounts the highly publicized story of three women kidnapped and held in captivity for a decade.Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 8, 2015

"A classically riveting crime tale, all the more fascinating for being true."
This historical crime debut details the life of a white-collar criminal who fled the United States for Venezuela in the early 20th century. Read full book review >
SALTWATER COWBOY by Tim McBride
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 7, 2015

"An up-and-down true story about a time and place that has inspired plenty of fiction."
A saga of big risk and big reward within the romanticized pirate life of marijuana smugglers along the Florida Coast. Read full book review >
THE BROTHERS by Masha Gessen
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 7, 2015

"There are no pat answers, but Gessen makes it eerily plain to see how simply an atrocity can manifest."
The bombing of the 2013 Boston Marathon resulted in a deluge of media coverage, none of which offered a satisfying explanation of why it happened. This book attempts to find an answer. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 1, 2015

"McMichael ably leads readers to the conclusion that, in this case, no one's hands were clean."
Journalist McMichael reveals far-reaching deceptions in his examination of coverups in the case of James Earl Ray (1928-1998), accused of killing Martin Luther King Jr. in Memphis in 1968. Read full book review >
CURRENT AFFAIRS
Released: March 24, 2015

"An earnest, eye-opening, important account for Western readers."
A brave, excoriating exposé of the systematic ruination of resource-rich countries of Africa, leaving "penury and strife" for its millions of inhabitants. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Emma Straub
author of MODERN LOVERS
May 30, 2016

In Emma Straub’s new novel Modern Lovers, friends and former college bandmates Elizabeth and Andrew and Zoe have watched one another marry, buy real estate, and start businesses and families, all while trying to hold on to the identities of their youth. But nothing ages them like having to suddenly pass the torch (of sexuality, independence, and the ineffable alchemy of cool) to their own offspring. Back in the band’s heyday, Elizabeth put on a snarl over her Midwestern smile, Andrew let his unwashed hair grow past his chin, and Zoe was the lesbian all the straight women wanted to sleep with. Now nearing fifty, they all live within shouting distance in the same neighborhood deep in gentrified Brooklyn, and the trappings of the adult world seem to have arrived with ease. But the summer that their children reach maturity (and start sleeping together), the fabric of the adult lives suddenly begins to unravel, and the secrets and revelations that are finally let loose—about themselves, and about the famous fourth band member who soared and fell without them—can never be reclaimed. “Straub’s characters are a quirky and interesting bunch, well aware of their own good fortune, and it’s a pleasure spending time with them in leafy Ditmas Park,” our reviewer writes in a starred review. View video >