FOOTBALL by Will Grimsley


Email this review


The subtitle. The Greatest Moments from the Southwest Conference should define the sideline audience. And the Moments extend from Southern Methodist vs. Texas Christian 1935 to the Cotton Bowl 1968. The Southwest certainly had its share of razzle-dazzle and in the goal rush you'll find D. X. Bible, Doak Walker, Kyle Rote, Jimmy Brown, and the once invincible, forever immortal Notre Dame team. Includes: Sugar Bowl: 1939; Texas A & M vs. Southern Methodist 1940; Cotton Bowl 1946, 1954, 1957, 1964; Texas A & M 1965; Arkansas vs. Texas 1965. Not exactly hot off the gridiron but it might find its way into the locker room.

Pub Date: Oct. 14th, 1968
Publisher: Little, Brown