Young Adult Book Reviews (page 2)

THE LYING WOODS by Ashley Elston
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Nov. 13, 2018

"Readers won't even notice the steady pull to the edges of their seats. (Fiction. 14-17)"
A teen is unprepared for the truths his father's disappearance uncovers in Elston's (This Is Our Story, 2016, etc.) latest. Read full book review >
KUNG FU HERO AND THE FORBIDDEN CITY by Deji Olatunji
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Nov. 6, 2018

"Taking advantage of a very fast-growing fan base, this outing aims to expand Olatunji's branded empire with a video game-inspired graphic fantasy but delivers nothing more than cheap prepubescent thrills. (Graphic fantasy. 12-14)"
YouTube sensation ComedyShortsGamer takes his signature blend of hilarity and hijinks on an unbelievable journey into the fantastical Beijing underground with his brother/nemesis, KSI. Read full book review >

SYNCHRO BOY by Shannon McFerran
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Nov. 6, 2018

"A nuanced, compassionate exploration of male sexuality and identity. (Fiction. 12-18)"
After Bart, a dancer-turned-competitive swimmer, impulsively joins his Victoria, British Columbia, high school's all-female synchronized swim team, he finds himself challenging heteronormative expectations both in and out of school. Read full book review >
THIS IS WHAT IT FEELS LIKE by Rebecca Barrow
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Nov. 6, 2018

"A realistic, impassioned portrait of young women coming into their own in all their messy glory. (Fiction. 15-18)"
Three indomitable young Californian women graduate high school while grappling with friendship, love, and living authentically. Read full book review >
KINGDOM OF THE BLAZING PHOENIX by Julie C.  Dao
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Nov. 6, 2018

"A grand adventure for fans of fairy tales, fables, and legends coupled with the vibrant history of Chinese dynasties. (Fantasy. 12-16)"
A young princess finds the courage to usurp an evil queen. Read full book review >

THE WREN HUNT by Mary Watson
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Nov. 6, 2018

"Lush, if meandering and muddled; good for fans of Maggie Stiefvater and Holly Black. (Fantasy. 14-18)"
Augurs scry prophecies from patterns, but 17-year-old Wren Silke is uncertain about her own future. Read full book review >
LITTLE WHITE LIES by Jennifer Lynn Barnes
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Nov. 6, 2018

"Sawyer's smart narrative, along with plenty of biting social commentary, will keep readers turning the pages. (Fiction. 14-18)"
Eighteen-year-old small-town mechanic Sawyer Taft gets much more than she bargains for when she's made an offer she can't possibly refuse. Read full book review >
GIRLS OF PAPER AND FIRE by Natasha Ngan
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Nov. 6, 2018

"Setting up a strong foundation for a hoped-for sequel, this is ideal for those seeking diverse LGBTQ fantasy stories. (Fantasy. 14-18)"
Thrust into the beauty and horror of the Hidden Palace, will this Paper Girl survive? Read full book review >
THE PROPHET CALLS by Melanie Sumrow
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Nov. 6, 2018

"Harrowing and realistic but slanted toward sensationalism. (Fiction. 12-14)"
Thirteen-year-old Gentry feels trapped in a polygamous walled community ruled by the words of a prophet incarcerated in Texas. Read full book review >
EMPRESS OF ALL SEASONS by Emiko Jean
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Nov. 6, 2018

"A narrative that will engage fans of the genre with a much-needed non-Western setting. (glossary) (Fantasy. 12-18)"
A contest to choose the next empress of Honoku has three characters making decisions that will shape the empire and the fate of an enslaved people. Read full book review >
HIDE WITH ME by Sorboni Banerjee
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Nov. 6, 2018

"A rough cut in need of sharper editing to truly make the facets shine. (Thriller. 14-18)"
Drug cartel violence spills across the border, forever changing the lives of teens in the small town of Tanner, Texas, in Banerjee's debut novel. Read full book review >
IT'S ONLY THE END OF THE WORLD by J.A. Henderson
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 6, 2018

"A sharply built adventure with engaging characters. (Thriller. 10-14)"
An everyday kid discovers shocking family secrets. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >