Young Adult Book Reviews (page 2)

THINGS I'D RATHER DO THAN DIE by Christine Hurley Deriso
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 18, 2018

"Fans of Zora and Nicky by Claudia Mair Burney (David C. Cook, 2008) will enjoy this faith-based love story. (Romance. 14-18)"
Jade and Ethan overcome misperceptions about one another in this lighthearted romance that explores race, class, religion, and identity. Read full book review >
CHECK, PLEASE! by Ngozi Ukazu
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 18, 2018

"A fun and deeply satisfying read for teens. (Graphic novel. 14-18)"
A pie-baking hockey player from small-town Georgia begins college and settles into jock culture. Read full book review >

DARK TOMORROW by Jeremiah Franklin
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 18, 2018

"A decent kickoff to a post-apocalyptic series. (Fiction. 14-18)"
Survivors of a calamitous event carry on. Read full book review >
SEA PRAYER by Khaled Hosseini
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 18, 2018

"Powerful. (Picture book. 10-adult)"
A poignant letter written by a fearful Syrian father to his son on the eve of a treacherous sea crossing to Europe. Read full book review >
TWICE DEAD by Caitlin Seal
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 18, 2018

"A high fantasy filled with adventure, espionage, and romance that envelops the reader in a world where the undead walk among the living. (map) (Fantasy. 13-18)"
Naya Garth, apprentice to her wealthy merchant father, has been sent to prove herself by speaking with a supplier—but will it be the test she was expecting? Read full book review >

AMERICAN ROAD TRIP by Patrick Flores-Scott
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 18, 2018

"A compassionate success. (resource list, author's note) (Fiction. 12-18)"
After Teodoro's older brother, Manny, left for Iraq, the Avila family began to fall apart. Read full book review >
A HEART IN A BODY IN THE WORLD by Deb Caletti
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 18, 2018

"A timely novel with strong secondary characters that emphasizes the complexities of the heart and doing what is right. (Fiction. 14-adult) "
Annabelle Agnelli runs from Seattle to Washington, D.C., in an attempt to outrun a traumatizing incident that occurred less than a year earlier. Read full book review >
ESCAPING FROM HOUDINI by Kerri Maniscalco
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 18, 2018

"A gripping mystery with a compelling heroine and just the right touch of romance (Mystery. 15-adult)"
In the winter of 1889, a luxury cruise liner leaves Liverpool, England, with a murderer on board. Read full book review >
CAN YOUR CONVERSATIONS CHANGE THE WORLD? by Erinne Paisley
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 18, 2018

"Idealistic and hopeful. (glossary, resources) (Nonfiction. 12-adult)"
PopActivism founder Paisley (Can Your Outfit Change the World?, 2018, etc.) is known for the prom dress she made out of her old math homework to raise awareness about the importance of education for all girls. Read full book review >
KENS by Raziel Reid
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 18, 2018

"Reid reads consumer culture to filth and the result is (mostly) lit. (glossary) (Fiction. 13-adult)"
A popularity contest turns deadly in this gay mélange of Mean Girls and Heathers. Read full book review >
PRIDE by Ibi Zoboi
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 18, 2018

"Legit. (Fiction. 14-adult)"
Seventeen-year-old Zuri Benitez deals with gentrification in her Brooklyn neighborhood and her own bias in this Pride and Prejudice remix. Read full book review >
STRANGE GRACE by Tessa Gratton
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Sept. 18, 2018

"Horrifying, heartbreaking, and heartwarming, a lush fairy tale rooted in a moral quandary. (Fantasy. 14-adult)"
When the needs of the many require the deaths of a few, three friends defy tradition. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >