Young Adult Book Reviews (page 6)

THIS IS NOT A LOVE LETTER by Kim Purcell
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 30, 2018

"A poignant interracial love story that grapples with hate and violence. (Thriller. 12-16)"
A few weeks after getting jumped by boys from a rival town, a black student disappears, causing his white girlfriend to assume the worst. Read full book review >
THE UPSIDE OF FALLING DOWN by Rebekah Crane
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 30, 2018

"A light exploration of existential themes. (Fiction. 14-18)"
When Clementine Haas wakes up in a hospital, she has no recollection of the past 18 years of her life, let alone why she's there. Read full book review >

MARY'S MONSTER by Lita Judge
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 30, 2018

"Students of literature will appreciate the powerful poetry that brings life to Mary Shelley's story the way that Shelley herself breathed life into her novel of a scientist who animates a corpse. (introduction, biographical note, author's note, notes, bibliography) (Historical verse novel. 13-17) "
That a teenage girl in 19th-century England could have written a novel as original as Frankenstein has fascinated generations of readers. Read full book review >
WINNER TAKE ALL by Laurie Devore
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 30, 2018

"An unrelenting, incisive look at one young woman's highly pressurized world. (Fiction. 14-18)"
Competition drives a young woman who falls into an intense relationship with her nemesis at their moneyed private school. Read full book review >
HERMES by George O'Connor
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 30, 2018

"Another crowd-pleasing, compulsively readable entry in this divine series. (bibliography) (Graphic mythology. 10-14)"
The most mischievous of the gods presents some of his most outrageous pranks and exploits. Read full book review >

MARLEY DIAS GETS IT DONE by Marley Dias
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 30, 2018

"Dias' magnetic personality, outlook on life, and passion for change enliven every page, making this both a fun read and an irresistible call to action for people of all ages and backgrounds. (Nonfiction. 10-16)"
Teen social justice activist Dias shares her passion for changing the world. Read full book review >
THE LAST GIRL ON EARTH by Alexandra Blogier
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 23, 2018

"This easy-reading sci-fi outing should appeal to fans of Suzanne Weyn and Lisa M. Stasse. (Science fiction. 13-16)"
Only her father and sister know Li's secret, one that could get her killed: she's human. Read full book review >
BEFORE I LET GO by Marieke Nijkamp
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 23, 2018

"Intriguingly spooky but never quite coheres. (Suspense. 12-16)"
Seven months after Corey left her hometown of Lost Creek, Alaska, and her best friend, Kyra, behind, she returns, grief-stricken, to learn what caused Kyra's death. Read full book review >
GIRL ON POINTE by Chloe Lukasiak
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 23, 2018

"A positive, informative account best suited for the author's more than 1 million YouTube subscribers and social media followers; others can give it a pass. (photographs, epilogue) (Memoir. 12-16)"
With an assist from Ohlin, dancer-turned-reality star-turned-actress-turned-internet sensation Lukasiak offers advice for conquering bullying, overcoming shyness, following dreams, and growing up in the spotlight. Read full book review >
REIGN OF THE FALLEN by Sarah Glenn Marsh
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 23, 2018

"Readers who can overlook the hiccups will be rewarded by an intriguing world, a dynamic cast of characters, and a well-handled exploration of grief in a fantasy setting. (Fantasy. 13-adult)"
A necromancer must overcome grief and protect the kingdom of Karthia from monstrous Shades. Read full book review >
A LAND OF PERMANENT GOODBYES by Atia Abawi
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 23, 2018

"A heartbreaking, haunting, and necessary story that offers hope while laying bare the bleakness of the world Tareq leaves and the new one he seeks to join. (Fiction. 12-18)"
From award-winning journalist Abawi (The Secret Sky, 2014) comes an unforgettable novel that brings readers face to face with the global refugee crisis. Read full book review >
THE UNUSUAL SUSPECTS by Dominic Carrillo
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 20, 2018

"An unevenly executed adventure story that celebrates the value of literature and unlikely friendship."
In Carrillo's (The Improbable Rise of Paco Jones, 2016, etc.) YA novel, a teenager embarks upon a quest for vengeance but later learns important lessons from an unlikely teacher. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >