Young Adult Book Reviews (page 7)

ZENITH  by Sasha Alsberg
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 16, 2018

"Trope-filled mediocrity. (Science fiction. 13-18)"
A wanted space mercenary is offered clemency in return for executing a dangerous mission with the ex who betrayed her. Read full book review >
POISON'S CAGE  by Breeana Shields
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 16, 2018

"A strong thread of the importance of female friendship makes this adventure rise above Marinda's bland romance. (Fantasy. 13-15)"
A fantasy romance influenced by Hindu cosmology concludes its quest with exhaustive thoroughness. Read full book review >

LOVE, HATE AND OTHER FILTERS by Samira Ahmed
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 16, 2018

"A well-crafted plot with interesting revelations about living as a second-generation Muslim-American teen in today's climate. (Fiction. 13-18)"
High school senior Maya Aziz works up the courage to tell her parents that she's gotten into the film school of her dreams in New York City, but their expectations combined with anti-Muslim backlash from a terror attack threaten to derail her dream. Read full book review >
ALL THAT WAS by Karen Rivers
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 16, 2018

"Emotionally dark and keenly observant, perfect for fans of E. Lockhart's We Were Liars (2014). (Fiction. 14-18)"
Sloane's grief over the murder of her best friend, Piper, is complicated by the rifts that had recently been developing in their friendship. Read full book review >
GIRL DIVIDED by Willow Rose
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 16, 2018

"An incendiary tale featuring mythic and realistic elements."
A girl whose skin is black on the right side of her body, white on the left, becomes a magical figure in an apocalyptic future in this YA fantasy novel. Read full book review >

LOSING BRAVE by Bailee Madison
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 10, 2018

"Southern charm without substance. (Fiction. 14-18)"
An emotional Southern tale about the loss of a sister, the loss of self, and the quest to find wholeness after a terrible tragedy. Read full book review >
A TAXONOMY OF LOVE by Rachael Allen
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 9, 2018

"Patient readers will want to follow Spencer and Hope's tangled relationship just to see where it finally ends up. (Romance. 13-18)"
Two teens chronicle six years of their unpredictable relationships. Read full book review >
BENEATH THE HAUNTING SEA by Joanna Meyer
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 9, 2018

"Epic, musical, and tender. (Fantasy. 12-16)"
A rightful empress, exiled before she takes the throne, finds that her destiny lies under the ocean. Read full book review >
VERY, VERY, VERY DREADFUL by Albert Marrin
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 9, 2018

"Not one to shy away from unnerving details, Marrin relays what researchers and scientist express today: another influenza pandemic will unquestionably strike again. (notes, bibliography, further reading, picture credits, index) (Nonfiction. 12-18)"
A comprehensive history of the influenza pandemic of 1918, the worst global killer that humankind has experienced. Read full book review >
NICE TRY, JANE SINNER by Lianne Oelke
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 9, 2018

"Character-driven, humorous, and deceptively profound. (Fiction. 14-18)"
A young Canadian woman joins the cast of a campus-produced reality TV show after she bombs out of her senior year of high school and decides to get her diploma at a local community college. Read full book review >
NAONDEL by Maria Turtschaninoff
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 9, 2018

"Late solaces—the escape, the abbey's founding, one partnership between women—can't outweigh the toll of misogynistic torture in this heavy piece. (maps, character list) (Fantasy. 15-adult)"
A man harnesses a spiritual power and uses it to destroy women. Read full book review >
UNEARTHED by Amie Kaufman
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 9, 2018

"Readers would be more invested in the ending if they could experience the actual beginning. (Science fiction. 14-18)"
Two young people join forces in the abandoned temples of the planet Gaia in this sci-fi series opener. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >