Young Adult Book Reviews (page 9)

THE LAST WISH OF SASHA CADE by Cheyanne Young
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Oct. 2, 2018

"A tedious and predictable snooze. (Fiction. 12-16)"
A dying teen leaves her best friend a to-do list. Read full book review >
WHAT THEY DON'T KNOW by Nicole Maggi
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Oct. 2, 2018

"A heavily message-driven novel that pits the anti-abortion camp against the abortion-rights camp in no uncertain terms. (author's note, resources) (Fiction. 14-18)"
A teenage girl struggles with the decision to end the pregnancy that resulted from her rape while desperately trying to keep the abortion a secret from her conservative Christian family. Read full book review >

WHEN WE CAUGHT FIRE by Anna Godbersen
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Oct. 2, 2018

"Danielle Steele for the younger set. (historical note) (Historical fiction.13-17)"
The days leading up to and including Chicago's Great Fire of 1871 are the backdrop for an eternally twisting love triangle. Read full book review >
ME AND ME by Alice Kuipers
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Oct. 2, 2018

"An eerie, intriguing premise and fast-moving plot hampered by clichéd characters and a flat resolution. (Paranormal romance. 14-17)"
Lark's boyfriend, Alec, is injured trying to rescue Annabelle, the 4-year-old Lark used to babysit, and both are drowning; when she's unable to choose whom to save, Lark's world splits in two. Read full book review >
GRIM LOVELIES by Megan  Shepherd
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Oct. 2, 2018

"This tightly-paced novel will leave readers demanding sequels that explore more of Anouk's epic journeys. (Contemporary fantasy. 14-17)"
Servants or saviors? Read full book review >

MUSE OF NIGHTMARES by Laini Taylor
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Oct. 2, 2018

"A sequel that surpasses the original. (Fantasy. 14-18)"
Love and hatred haunt survivors in this otherworldly sequel. Read full book review >
WORDS WE DON'T SAY by K.J. Reilly
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Oct. 2, 2018

"A high-interest read for its exploration of complex topics without simple answers. (Fiction. 14-17)"
After the death of a friend, a teenage boy struggles to move on and open himself up to others in this debut novel. Read full book review >
ART BOSS by Kayla Cagan
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Oct. 2, 2018

"A fast-paced bildungsroman offering an engaging portrait of the artist as a young woman. (Fiction. 14-18)"
A young artist moves to the big city. Read full book review >
THE SEVEN TORMENTS OF AMY AND CRAIG (A LOVE STORY) by Don Zolidis
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Oct. 2, 2018

"A charming, funny love story. (Romance. 13-17)"
Two high school seniors weather a stormy year. Read full book review >
LOST BOY by Shelley Hrdlitschka
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Oct. 2, 2018

"This companion novel to Sister Wife (2008) ends on a hopeful note for the young people of Unity struggling to make sense of the world beyond. (Fiction. 13-18)"
After being caught kissing a girl, 17-year-old Jon leaves Unity, the faith-based polygamous community in which they were both born and raised. Read full book review >
FREEDOM TRIALS by Meredith Tate
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Oct. 2, 2018

"For readers who can never have enough dystopian fiction; all others should refer to the classics. (Dystopian. 14-18)"
Tate's (Missing Pieces, 2015) sophomore outing introduces a near-future dystopia where juvenile offenders are locked up underground and their memories are wiped of all their criminal deeds in hopes of being granted release through successful completion of the Freedom Trials. Read full book review >
THE GEOGRAPHY OF LOST THINGS by Jessica Brody
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Oct. 2, 2018

"Fans of Sarah Dessen and Gayle Forman will enjoy this tender story. (Fiction. 12-18)"
Eighteen-year-old Ali Collins must reckon with her complicated history with her rolling stone father on an eventful road trip with her ex-boyfriend. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >