Young Adult Book Reviews

TRANS TEEN SURVIVAL GUIDE by Fox Fisher
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 21, 2018

"There are still very few nonfiction books for trans teens in need of support, and this title helps fill in that gap. (resources, appendix, glossary) (Nonfiction. 12-18)"
A chatty and informal guide for transgender teenagers and others who want to understand more about those experiences. Read full book review >
AFTERIMAGE by Naomi Hughes
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 18, 2018

"A wild, fast-paced ride full of unexpected turns. (Science fiction. 14-18)"
Not even time itself can stop Camryn Kingfisher from saving the universe and the people she loves in Hughes' debut novel. Read full book review >

THE DEEPEST ROOTS by Miranda Asebedo
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 18, 2018

"A heartwarming story of intergenerational sisterhood. (Magical realism. 14-18)"
Debut novelist Asebedo creates a broken world in need of a Fixer in rural Kansas, where the women are deemed cursed and unscrupulous men take advantage. Read full book review >
UNCLAIMED BAGGAGE by Jen Doll
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 18, 2018

"Teens who favor realistic fiction will find much to like here. (Fiction. 14-18)"
Three teens form a tight friendship while working together at a store in small-town Alabama that sells the contents of people's long-lost airplane luggage. Read full book review >
MARY SHELLEY by Catherine Reef
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 18, 2018

"A thorough, sensitive portrayal of one of literature's most remarkable authors, illustrated with period portraits and engravings. (notes, bibliography, Mary Shelley's works, index) (Biography. 12-18) "
"Every thing must have a beginning…and that beginning must be linked to something that went before." Read full book review >

THE GRAND ESCAPE by Neal Bascomb
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 18, 2018

"A fine escapade related with proper drama and likely to be news even to well-read young historians. (maps, sources, bibliography, index) (Nonfiction. 12-15)"
Allied prisoners of war stage a series of intrepid escapes from German captors in this young readers' version of a true story from World War I. Read full book review >
UNBROKEN by Marieke Nijkamp
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 18, 2018

"For intersectional representations of disabled kids leading complex lives—sometimes painful, sometimes funny, never sentimentally inspirational—a vital collection. (Anthology. 13-17)"
Thirteen realistic, fantasy, and science-fiction stories starring disabled teenagers. Read full book review >
IRON RIVER by Daniel Acosta
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 18, 2018

"A dense story with rich associative leaps, the novel will prompt discussions about race, class, sexuality, and gender. (Historical fiction. 12-18)"
Haunted by nightmares and the dangers of life in a Los Angeles barrio, Manuel Maldonado Jr.'s courageous testimony forever changes his community. Read full book review >
JUST MERCY by Bryan Stevenson
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 18, 2018

"This is required reading, embracing the ideals that 'we all need mercy, we all need justice, and—perhaps—we all need some measure of unmerited grace.' (notes, index) (Nonfiction. 12-18)"
"Each of us is more than the worst thing we've ever done," proclaims Stevenson's adaptation for younger audiences of his 2014 New York Times bestseller, a deeply moving collage of true stories dedicated to transforming the U.S. criminal justice system. Read full book review >
HERE TO STAY by Sara Farizan
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 18, 2018

"Powerful. (Fiction. 12-18)"
Bijan is a varsity athlete at a Boston-area prep school whose otherwise ordinary life gets disrupted when a cyberbully torments him because of his Iranian-Jordanian heritage. Read full book review >
ANALEE, IN REAL LIFE by Janelle Milanes
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 18, 2018

"A romantic comedy that reminds readers why the genre has such lasting appeal. (Fiction. 14-18)"
A genuinely fresh spin on Pygmalion in high school. Read full book review >
THINGS I'D RATHER DO THAN DIE by Christine Hurley Deriso
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 18, 2018

"Fans of Zora and Nicky by Claudia Mair Burney (David C. Cook, 2008) will enjoy this faith-based love story. (Romance. 14-18)"
Jade and Ethan overcome misperceptions about one another in this lighthearted romance that explores race, class, religion, and identity. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >