Congratulations to the writers chosen as finalists for the 2016 Kirkus Prize! This year’s finalists were chosen from 515 young readers’ literature titles, 314 fiction titles, and 325 nonfiction titles. The three winners will be announced in Austin, Texas, on Thursday, Nov. 3.


Winners in the three categories will receive $50,000 each, making the Kirkus Prize one of the richest annual literary awards in the world. Writers become eligible by receiving a starred review from Kirkus Reviews. An esteemed panel of judges, composed of nationally respected writers and highly regarded booksellers, librarians, and Kirkus critics, select the Kirkus Prize finalists and winners.


Continue reading >


The finalists for the 2016 Kirkus Prize are:























The judges for the 2016 Kirkus Prize in Fiction are: award-winning author Claire Messud, Annie Philbrick, the owner of Bank Square Books in Mystic, Connecticut, and a second location in Westerly, Rhode Island, and journalist and Kirkus critic Gene Seymour.





























The judges for the 2016 Kirkus Prize in Nonfiction are: author and Kirkus critic Jim Piechota, Chris Schoppa of Politics & Prose Bookstore in Washington, D.C., and journalist and novelist Héctor Tobar






Picture Books:

  • Thunder Boy Jr. by Sherman Alexie and illustrated Morales jacket by Yuyi Morales (Little, Brown) 








Middle Grade:









Young Adult:











The judges for the 2016 Kirkus Prize in Young Readers’ Literature are: author and co-owner of The Flying Pig Bookstore in Shelburne, Vermont, Elizabeth Bluemle, coordinator of school and student services for Enoch Pratt Free Library in Baltimore and Kirkus critic Deborah D. Taylor, and award-winning author and the Poetry Foundation’s Young People’s Laureate Jacqueline Woodson.