Kirkus Reviews: Digital Edition

Kirkus Reviews magazine is published on the 1st and 15th of each month in both digital and print formats. For a list of books in each issue view the print index. Not a subscriber? Join today.


March 15, 2017: Volume LXXXV, No 6

Featuring 388 industry-first reviews of fiction, nonfiction and children's & teen; also in this issue: Ariel Levy is what some people like to call a lot. In her memoir 'The Rules Do Not Apply', this former golden girl eloquently acknowledges how the fact that “everybody doesn’t get everything” in life is “as natural and unavoidable as mortality."; and more

March 01, 2017: Volume LXXXV, No 5

Featuring 371 industry-first reviews of fiction, nonfiction and children's & teen; also in this issue: Mohsin Hamid's novel 'Exit West' is a book to savor even while despairing of its truths. "One of my hopes in writing this book was to explore with the reader the possibility that maybe all of us are refugees," Hamid tells us; and more

February 15, 2017: Volume LXXXV, No 4

Featuring 403 industry-first reviews of fiction, nonfiction and children's & teen; also in this issue: George Saunders never meant to write a novel. "You know, me and Alice Munro: we don't do that," he says. And yet his first novel, 'Lincoln in the Bardo', is out this week; and more

February 01, 2017: Volume LXXXV, No 3

Featuring 436 industry-first reviews of fiction, nonfiction and children's & teen; also in this issue: Katie Kitamura's new novel, 'A Separation', is a thrilling, hypnotic meditation on infidelity that unsettles its characters—and readers; and more

January 15, 2017: Volume LXXXV, No 2

Featuring 319 industry-first reviews of fiction, nonfiction and children's & teen; also in this issue: Gregor Hens' memoir 'Nicotine' is a book about addiction merely on the surface. "I knew it was a topic that would take me to the most important moments of my life," he says; and more

January 01, 2017: Volume LXXXV, No 1

Featuring 310 industry-first reviews of fiction, nonfiction and children's & teen; also in this issue: with a new children's book out about the Harlem Renaissance, poet Nikki Grimes gives young readers hope for the future while mining the past. "I feel their weight, and their influence, still," Grimes writes about the Harlem Renaissance thinkers; and more

December 15, 2016: Volume LXXXIV, No 24

Featuring 308 industry-first reviews of fiction, nonfiction and children's & teen; also in this issue: the Best 100 Indie Books of the year, plus our full December 15 issue; and more

December 01, 2016: Volume LXXXIV, No 23

Featuring 330 industry-first reviews of fiction, nonfiction and children's & teen; also in this issue: the Best 100 Nonfiction and Best 50 Teen Books of the year, plus our full December 1 issue; and more