A SPY AMONG FRIENDS by Ben Macintyre
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 29, 2014

"Gripping and as well-crafted as an episode of Smiley's People, full of cynical inevitability, secrets, lashings of whiskey and corpses."
A tale of espionage, alcoholism, bad manners and the chivalrous code of spies—the real world of James Bond, that is, as played out by clerks and not superheroes. Read full book review >
THE ANSWER TO THE RIDDLE IS ME by David Stuart MacLean
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 14, 2014

"A mesmerizing debut. MacLean spares no detail in tracing his formidable reconstruction."
A young writer reckons with his life after amnesia. Read full book review >

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 15, 2014

"A masterly feat of reporting."
The story of one man's fight to save American furniture manufacturing jobs in the face of a deluge of cheap Chinese imports. Read full book review >
THE HISTORY OF ROCK 'N' ROLL IN TEN SONGS by Greil Marcus
ENTERTAINMENT & SPORTS
Released: Sept. 2, 2014

"Essayistic, occasionally disconnected, but Marcus does what he does best: makes us feel smarter about what we're putting into our ears."
Another allusive, entertaining inquiry by veteran musicologist Marcus (The Doors: A Lifetime of Listening to Five Mean Years, 2011, etc.). Read full book review >
MAN ALIVE by Thomas Page McBee
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 1, 2014

"'The world is vicious and beautiful and, to some extent, unexplainable,' writes the author. 'But that doesn't stop us from wanting a story.' This is quite a story, masterfully rendered."
The transgender author delivers a unique, powerful rite-of-passage memoir. Read full book review >

MY LIFE IN MIDDLEMARCH by Rebecca Mead
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 28, 2014

"A rare and remarkable fusion of techniques that draws two women together across time and space."
A New Yorker writer examines the arc of her life in the reflection of George Eliot's Middlemarch. Read full book review >
WHAT WE SEE WHEN WE READ by Peter Mendelsund
ENTERTAINMENT & SPORTS
Released: Aug. 5, 2014

"Mendelsund amply attains his goal to produce a quirky, fresh and altogether delightful meditation on the miraculous act of reading."
An artist investigates how we make meaning from words on a page. Read full book review >
HISTORY
Released: May 6, 2014

"A scholarly enough social history but one with plenty of sex appeal."
An award-winning historian surveys the astonishing cast of characters who helped turn Manhattan into the world capital of commerce, communication and entertainment. Read full book review >