BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 18, 2016

"This first-rate journey into human trafficking, slavery, and familial bonding is an engrossing example of spirited, determined reportage."
A consummate chronicler of the American South spotlights the extraordinary history of two kidnapped African-American brothers enslaved as a circus sideshow act. Read full book review >
KILL 'EM AND LEAVE by James McBride
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 5, 2016

"An unconventional and fascinating portrait of Soul Brother No. 1 and the significance of his rise and fall in American culture."
National Book Award winner McBride (The Good Lord Bird, 2013, etc.) dissects the career, legacy, and myth of the Godfather of Soul.Read full book review >

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 20, 2016

"A fresh, captivating history of the enduringly colorful Churchill."
A history of the danger-seeking young Winston Churchill during the Boer War, which "had turned out to be far more difficult and more devastating than the amusing colonial war the British had expected." Read full book review >
THE GENE by Siddhartha Mukherjee
NON-FICTION
Released: May 17, 2016

"Sobering, humbling, and extraordinarily rich reading from a wise and gifted writer who sees how far we have come—but how much farther we have to go to understand our human nature and destiny."
A panoramic history of the gene and how genetics "resonate[s] far beyond the realms of science." Read full book review >
NOTHING EVER DIES by Viet Thanh Nguyen
NON-FICTION
Released: April 5, 2016

"Essentially a critical study, Nguyen's work is a powerful reflection on how we choose to remember and forget."
A scholarly exploration of memory and the Vietnam War from an author "born in Vietnam but made in America." Read full book review >

NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"An unusually lucid and readable look at the daunting algorithms that govern so many aspects of our lives."
How ill-conceived algorithms now micromanage America's economy, from advertising to prisons. Read full book review >
RIVERINE by Angela Palm
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Aug. 16, 2016

"An intelligent, evocative, and richly textured memoir."
The haunting account of how the author tried to escape her rural Indiana past. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 10, 2016

"A lively account of our Revolution's most reviled figure."
A history of the American Revolution, focused on George Washington (1732-1799) and Benedict Arnold (1741-1801), in which the author acknowledges Arnold's good points but does not fully rehabilitate him. Read full book review >