THE VANISHING PRINCESS by Jenny Diski
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 5, 2017

"Regal, raunchy, revealing—the stories in this collection leave a lasting impression."
This short story collection from a beloved British author, published in the U.K. in 1995 but only now receiving a U.S. release, glimmers like found treasure—or a mirage. Read full book review >
WALKAWAY by Cory Doctorow
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 25, 2017

"A truly visionary techno-thriller that not only depicts how we might live tomorrow, but asks why we don't already."
Doctorow (Information Doesn't Want to Be Free, 2014, etc.) offers a counterintuitive alternate (possible?) future in this gritty yet hopeful sci-fi epic. Read full book review >

THE ARRANGEMENT by Sarah Dunn
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 21, 2017

"Dunn's dryly humorous story about a marriage that goes dangerously off-road never loses its groove."
This novel about a couple that agrees to have an open marriage, for a limited time only and while adhering to certain rules, is a polished, amusing, and highly entertaining take on modern relationships, parenthood, and suburbia. Read full book review >
MANHATTAN BEACH by Jennifer Egan
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 3, 2017

"Realistically detailed, poetically charged, and utterly satisfying: apparently there's nothing Egan can't do."
After stretching the boundaries of fiction in myriad ways (including a short story written in Tweets), Pulitzer Prize winner Egan (A Visit from the Goon Squad, 2010, etc.) does perhaps the only thing left that could surprise: she writes a thoroughly traditional novel. Read full book review >
FUTURE HOME OF THE LIVING GOD by Louise Erdrich
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 14, 2017

"There is much to rue in this novel about our world but also hope for salvation: 'I think we have survived because we love beauty and because we find each other beautiful,' as the novel's protagonist puts it. 'I think it may be our strongest quality.'"
The idea that evolution could suddenly move backward may seem like an incredible fantasy, but in this dreamlike, suspenseful novel, it's a fitting analogue for the environmental degradation we already experience. Read full book review >

FRESH COMPLAINT by Jeffrey Eugenides
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 3, 2017

"Sprightly or serious, Eugenides consistently writes about complex lives with depth and compassion."
Well-off, well-intentioned people find their just-so lives upended, often in curious ways, in this first collection of short stories by Eugenides (The Marriage Plot, 2011, etc.). Read full book review >
A CAST OF VULTURES by Judith Flanders
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 21, 2017

"The highlights of the third in this marvelous and often amusing series (A Bed of Scorpions, 2016, etc.) are neighborhood characters who are a basket of enjoyables and a complex and brainy heroine."
A missing neighbor, a series of fires, and turmoil at work are just the start of Samantha Clair's problems. Read full book review >
THE REMNANT by Charlie Fletcher
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 14, 2017

"A thoroughly enjoyable conclusion, the trilogy satisfyingly complete yet perfectly set up for future extensions."
Final installment (The Paradox, 2015, etc.) of Fletcher's rich and splendid Victorian gothic fantasy trilogy, and once again independently intelligible. Read full book review >