2014 Kirkus Prize Finalists [SHOWING SLIDE 13 OF 18]

The 18 books named as the finalists of the first Kirkus Prize have been chosen from some 1,000 eligible books. The Kirkus Prize is one of the richest literary awards in the world, with a prize of $50,000 bestowed annually to authors of fiction, nonfiction and young readers’ literature. Six books have been named finalists in each of the three categories and one book will be named the winner of each category on Thursday, October 23. We list the fiction finalists first, then nonfiction and finally, the young readers’ literature finalists. Congrats to all of them!

THE RIGHT WORD by Jen Bryant
Kirkus Star
by Jen Bryant, illustrated by Melissa Sweet

"In a word: marvelous! (Picture book/biography. 6-10)"
Read full book review >