The International Booker Prize, given annually to a work of fiction translated into English and published in the U.K. or Ireland, has revealed the lineup of judges for its 2025 award.

Chairing the jury for next year’s prize is Max Porter, author of the novels Grief Is the Thing With Feathers and Shy. His novel Lanny was longlisted for the 2019 Booker Prize.

Translator Anton Hur, who was shortlisted for the 2022 International Booker Prize alongside author Bora Chung for Cursed Bunny, will also serve as a judge for the award, as will Beth Orton, the folk/electronica singer-songwriter known for albums including Trailer Park and Daybreaker.

Poet and director Caleb Femi and literary magazine editor Sana Goyal round out the judging panel.

Jury chair Porter said in a statement, “We have a dream team of judges, people I trust and admire and want to spend time with. We gather not as experts to impose our opinions, but as readers, to recommend books. To unpack and discuss them, to test them against the worlds we live in and listen to the questions they ask of us.”

The International Booker Prize was first awarded in 2005. Past winners include Flights, written by Olga Tokarczuk and translated by Jennifer Croft, and Kairos, written by Jenny Erpenbeck and translated by Michael Hofmann.

The longlist for next year’s prize will be revealed on Feb. 25, 2025, with the shortlist following on April 8. The winner of the award will be announced on May 20 in a ceremony at the Tate Modern in London.

Michael Schaub is a contributing writer.