October 15th 2016: The Kirkus Prize Ceremony


October 15th 2015: The Kirkus Prize Ceremony


October 23rd 2014: The Kirkus Prize Inaugural Ceremony


May 28th 2014: The Kirkus Prize Announcement Party

Photographed by: Beowulf Sheehan


The Kirkus Prize is one of the richest literary awards in the world, with a prize of $50,000 bestowed annually to authors of fiction, nonfiction and young readers’ literature. It was created to celebrate the 85 years of discerning, thoughtful criticism Kirkus Reviews has contributed to both the publishing industry and readers at large. Books that earn the Kirkus Star with publication dates between Nov. 1, 2017 to Oct. 31, 2018 (see FAQ for exceptions), are automatically nominated for the 2018 Kirkus Prize. Six finalists in each of three categories will be announced on Tuesday, September 25, 2018. The Kirkus Prize judges will select three winners on Thursday, October 25, 2018.