Search Results: "A. Crumb"


BOOK REVIEW

Released: Nov. 15, 2010

"A revelation."
This is a unique volume, an artistic autobiography of year-by-year sketchbook drawings, ranging from the scrawls of a two-year-old to a fully developed vision. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IRA CRUMB MAKES A PRETTY GOOD FRIEND by Naseem Hrab
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 15, 2017

"A valuable lesson in friendship, with walking pickles on the side. (Picture book. 4-8)
"
Ira Crumb is "trustworthy, super helpful, and also really fun to be around"—but, having just moved, he is also "The New Kid." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FEVER CRUMB by Philip Reeve
FICTION
Released: April 1, 2010

"An essential read for fans and a great entry point for newcomers to the world; here's hoping there's more to come. (Science fiction. 13 & up)"

BOOK REVIEW

PENELOPE CRUMB by Shawn K. Stout
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 2, 2012

"Fans of Clementine and Ramona will cheer as new friend Penelope finds what she is looking for. (Fiction. 7-10)"
Penelope Crumb's large nose links her to her mysterious grandfather, who, it turns out, is not Graveyard Dead. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DRAWN TOGETHER by R. Crumb
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 1, 2012

"Not the most ambitious Crumb work, but there's a lot of love here."
A scrapbook from the first family of American cartooning, containing collaborative strips that date back to the mid-1970s. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENELOPE CRUMB NEVER FORGETS by Shawn K. Stout
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 24, 2013

"Readers will root for and relate to this fresh-voiced young heroine who joins the likes of Ramona, Judy Moody and Clementine. (Fiction. 7-10)"
Penelope Crumb is back with the same spunk and quirky narration that won readers over in her eponymous debut (2012). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SEVEN DAYS OF PETER CRUMB by Jonny Glynn
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Dec. 26, 2007

"Not for the squeamish."
Despite its allusions to Christian duality, Dostoevsky and existential morality, this debut novel depends more on shock value than literary value for its appeal. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BOOK OF GENESIS ILLUSTRATED by R. Crumb
Released: Oct. 19, 2009

"An erudite and artful, though frustratingly restrained, look at Old Testament stories."
The Book of Genesis as imagined by a veteran voice of underground comics. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A WEB OF AIR by Philip Reeve
ADVENTURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"Imaginative, inventive and exciting. (Steampunk. 12 & up)"
Fever Crumb is back! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I HEAR A PICKLE by Rachel Isadora
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 12, 2016

"Teachers, make sure this is on your shelves—it's a great read-aloud, an easy read for beginning readers, and a model for student books. (Picture/concept book. 3-6)"
Only the last page features the titular pickle—the rest of the book is a tribute to the five senses that will resonate with young readers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PEEK-A BOO! by Nina Laden
by Nina Laden, illustrated by Nina Laden
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 18, 2015

"A good-enough choice for parents and teachers to use to get the youngest goblins excited about many adults' favorite holiday while introducing sophisticated, though still one-syllable, vocabulary. (Board book. 1-3)"
Laden puts a Halloween spin on her successful wordplay board books, Peek-a-Who? (2000) and Peek-a-Zoo! (2014). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PEEK-A-ZOO! by Nina Laden
by Nina Laden, illustrated by Nina Laden
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 4, 2014

"While the first book executed this gimmick more successfully (there are only so many words that rhyme with 'Boo'), this companion title is a welcome pairing. (Board book. 6 mos.-2)"
The follow-up to the long-lived and much-loved Peek-a-Who? (2000) is finally here. Read full book review >