Search Results: "Aaron Johnston"


BOOK REVIEW

EARTH AFIRE by Orson Scott Card
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: June 4, 2013

"Another solidly engrossing installment, where the aliens are really just a sideshow: What we're witnessing is how and why Ender's child armies came to be."
Second entry in the prequel series (Earth Unaware, 2012), set many years before the deeds of the Ender's Game novels. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EARTH UNAWARE by Orson Scott Card
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: July 17, 2012

"Like the similarly endless Dune saga, it's impossible to pass up a new entry no matter how unpromising it may seem at first glance."
The beginning of a prequel series to Card's iconic Ender's Game yarns (Shadows in Flight, 2012, etc.), this greatly expands on material from existing backstory and a suite of Marvel comics. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

INVASIVE PROCEDURES by Orson Scott Card
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Sept. 1, 2007

"Iffy plotting, shaky science and annoying characters who, despite plenty of clues and warnings, do stupid things at critical moments—would probably work better as a screenplay, but Card fans and diehard futuristic thriller buffs may want to investigate."
Near-future biological thriller, from Card (Empire, 2006, etc.) and screenwriter Johnston. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SWARM  by Orson Scott Card
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 2, 2016

"Trading heavily for verisimilitude on material established years ago by Card but just about worthwhile for series fans."
A second prequel trilogy to the child-warrior Ender's Game series (Earth Awakens, 2014, etc.) opens. This time the invading alien Formics get serious. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EARTH AWAKENS by Orson Scott Card
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: June 10, 2014

"The weakest installment so far; still, fans will devour it."
Third in the Ender's Game prequel series (Earth Afire, 2013, etc.) featuring the invasion of a wholly unprepared Earth by alien Formics. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

YOU ARE NOT ALONE
by Leila Roy

I didn’t used to overthink my choices quite so much. Then someone made what I’ve always been told is a very important choice for me, and now I tend to overthink everything else.

Exit, Pursued by a Bear, by E. K. Johnston

It’s the beginning of Hermione Winters’ senior year in high school, and she and her best friend ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

THE PADAWAN THAT GOT AWAY
by Thea James

I love Star Wars.

Like many science fiction fans, I grew up enamored of Jedi and The Force. As a kid, I religiously watched the original trilogy with my family (we are a family of re-watchers). As a teen, I bought into the prequel trilogy: I braved the lines for each film premier showing, collected the video games, the Pepsi ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

MODERN LOVE
by Jennie K.

BOOK REPORT for That Inevitable Victorian Thing by E.K. Johnston

 

Cover Story: Montell Jordan

BFF Charm: Big Sister

Swoonworthy Scale: 5

Talky Talk: Map to Modern Victoriana

Bonus Factors: O Canada, Diversity, LGBTQ

Relationship Status: I See What You Did There

 

Cover Story: Montell Jordan

As Montell Jordan once sang, this is how we do it. I ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

I LOVE EWE by Aaron Zenz
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 19, 2013

"The best part of this slim title is the final page, which pictures all the animal mothers with their appropriate names. Consider only as an additional purchase. (Picture book. 2-5)"
A breezy book aimed at young readers touches upon the unique terms for 27 animal mamas. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JOURNEY by Aaron Becker
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 6, 2013

"An imaginative adventure story whose elaborate illustrations inspire wonder, careful examination and multiple reads. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Ignored by her digitally distracted family, a girl draws a red door on her bedroom wall and steps through. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE YEAR MONEY GREW ON TREES by Aaron Hawkins
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2010

"Surprising and absorbing. (Historical fiction. 9-12)"
Horticulture pays off for an enterprising teen. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE UNSINKABLE WALKER BEAN by Aaron Renier
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2010

Anyone who has said that pirates are an overused motif in youth literature has not yet met Walker Bean. Read full book review >