Search Results: "Abigail Halpin"


BOOK REVIEW

ABIGAIL by Catherine Rayner
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2013

"A richly illustrated story that could benefit from better page design and crisper storytelling. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Gorgeous, lush illustrations strengthen a somewhat loosely connected story. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GRAND PLAN TO FIX EVERYTHING by Uma Krishnaswami
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 24, 2011

"Full of references to Bollywood movie traditions and local customs, this is a delightful romp with a fresh setting and a distinctive and appealing main character. (Fiction. 9-13)"
Hooray for Bollywood. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENNY DREADFUL by Laurel Snyder
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 28, 2010

"The novel's theme of friendship will appeal to fans of The Penderwicks, The Mysterious Benedict Society and Hilary McKay's Casson Family books. (Fiction. 9-12)"
Not dreadful at all, this very pleasant book introduces rich, lonely ten-year-old Penelope Gray, who lives in a tightly controlled and boring world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MELANCHOLIC MERMAID by Kallie George
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2010

"The epilogue has an unexpected, romantic twist—heroic, adventurous, idealized—that bodes well for a sequel. (Picture book. 6-9)"
A mermaid is born with two tails, and a boy is born with webbed fingers in this lengthy original fairy tale. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PROBLEM WITH BEING SLIGHTLY HEROIC by Uma Krishnaswami
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 13, 2013

"Bits of Indian culture and Bollywood drama add delicious undertones to this confection, a treat for middle-grade readers. (Fiction. 9-12)"
Best friends Dini and Maddie and Bollywood movie star Dolly Singh, from Krishnaswami's The Grand Plan to Fix Everything (2011), return for a breathless dance through Washington, D.C. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YEAR OF THE BOOK by Andrea Cheng
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 22, 2012

"A gentle, affectionate take on familiar middle-grade issues and the joys of reading. (Fiction. 7-10)"
In what promises to be a reading year, 10-year-old Anna Wang finds real-life friends as well. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ABIGAIL IRIS by Lisa Glatt
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2009

"With Allen's periodic homespun sketches and a breezy first-person text, this sweet slip of a story is recommended for those girls feeling the squeeze of a crowded and blended family. (Fiction. 7-10)"
Third grader Abigail Iris is a happy-go-lucky girl. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ABIGAIL MUCHMORE by Lois G. Grambling
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2003

"While this offering from Grambling (The Witch Who Wanted to be a Princess, 2001, etc.) is superior to her earlier titles it will not be a first purchase, though storytellers may want to give it a second look. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Sun-washed watercolors illuminate this literary tale of Abigail Muchmore and her troubles with Mr. West Wind. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALWAYS, ABIGAIL by Nancy J. Cavanaugh
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 5, 2014

"Nonetheless, this kind of dilemma is very pertinent for middle school girls, and Cavanaugh largely handles it with tact and sensitivity, taking her heroine on a psychological journey from superficial to thoughtful. (Fiction. 9-13)"
A sixth-grade girl has to decide between friendship and popularity. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FINDING WILD by Megan Wagner Lloyd
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 10, 2016

"If the essence of 'wild' remains elusive, perhaps that is partly the point—'wild' can't be contained but is hidden and waiting to be discovered. (Picture book. 4-10)"
The wild world can be found close by, even in the city. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BELLA'S RULES by Elissa Haden Guest
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 16, 2013

"A winner. (Picture book. 4-8)"
As one might guess from the title, boisterous Bella's rules are in serious conflict with the family rules. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ABIGAIL IRIS by Lisa Glatt
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2010

"In the philosophical Abigail Iris, Glatt and Greenberg give readers a role model for adaptation and compromise. (Fiction. 7-9)"
Abigail Iris is just as happy-go-lucky as she was in the series opener, Abigail Iris: The One and Only (2009). Read full book review >