Search Results: "Abigail Halpin"


BOOK REVIEW

THE GRAND PLAN TO FIX EVERYTHING by Uma Krishnaswami
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 24, 2011

"Full of references to Bollywood movie traditions and local customs, this is a delightful romp with a fresh setting and a distinctive and appealing main character. (Fiction. 9-13)"
Hooray for Bollywood. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENNY DREADFUL by Laurel Snyder
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 28, 2010

"The novel's theme of friendship will appeal to fans of The Penderwicks, The Mysterious Benedict Society and Hilary McKay's Casson Family books. (Fiction. 9-12)"
Not dreadful at all, this very pleasant book introduces rich, lonely ten-year-old Penelope Gray, who lives in a tightly controlled and boring world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BELLA'S RULES by Elissa Haden Guest
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 16, 2013

"A winner. (Picture book. 4-8)"
As one might guess from the title, boisterous Bella's rules are in serious conflict with the family rules. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GLITTER TRAP by Barbara Brauner
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 14, 2013

"Featuring zany escapades, madcap magic and a cantankerous fairy godmother, this effervescent series debut enchants. (Fantasy. 9-12)"
A chance encounter with a fairy godmother with a penchant for glitter leads to merry mischief for 12-year-old Lacey. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MAGIC MISTAKE by Barbara Brauner
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 4, 2014

"Quick-witted and spunky, Lacey beguiles readers in her second adventure. (Fantasy. 9-12)"
The return of fairy godmother Katarina once again casts 12-year-old Lacey's life into disorder. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MELANCHOLIC MERMAID by Kallie George
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2010

"The epilogue has an unexpected, romantic twist—heroic, adventurous, idealized—that bodes well for a sequel. (Picture book. 6-9)"
A mermaid is born with two tails, and a boy is born with webbed fingers in this lengthy original fairy tale. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PROBLEM WITH BEING SLIGHTLY HEROIC by Uma Krishnaswami
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 13, 2013

"Bits of Indian culture and Bollywood drama add delicious undertones to this confection, a treat for middle-grade readers. (Fiction. 9-12)"
Best friends Dini and Maddie and Bollywood movie star Dolly Singh, from Krishnaswami's The Grand Plan to Fix Everything (2011), return for a breathless dance through Washington, D.C. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YEAR OF THE BOOK by Andrea Cheng
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 22, 2012

"A gentle, affectionate take on familiar middle-grade issues and the joys of reading. (Fiction. 7-10)"
In what promises to be a reading year, 10-year-old Anna Wang finds real-life friends as well. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FORT-BUILDING TIME by Megan Wagner Lloyd
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 10, 2017

"Playful reading fun. (Picture book. 3-5)"
A celebration of fort-building play throughout the year. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FINDING WILD by Megan Wagner Lloyd
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 10, 2016

"If the essence of 'wild' remains elusive, perhaps that is partly the point—'wild' can't be contained but is hidden and waiting to be discovered. (Picture book. 4-10)"
The wild world can be found close by, even in the city. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

FOUR NEW SPORTY MIDDLE GRADE NOVELS
by Leila Roy

While I’m not particularly up on real-life sports, well, EVER—I vaguely track various seasons by what uniforms my younger patrons are wearing, and that’s about it—reading fiction that’s centered around sports is a whole different ballgame.

*pauses for groans to subside*

So. Here are a few new and upcoming middle grade sports novels—one that I’ve read, and three more that ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

WHAT I'M WATCHING FOR- JULY 2017
by Leila Roy

This is the time of year that feels like someone has their finger on the fast-forward button—it’s already time to comb through this month’s new releases!

These are some of the books that I’m planning to pick up:

Spirit Hunters, by Ellen Oh

I read an advanced copy of this one months ago, and I’m SO looking forward to reading ...


Read the full post >