Search Results: "Abigail Kraft"


BOOK REVIEW

FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 7, 2004

"Such colorful syntax! Such talmudic reasoning! Such a pleasure, with even a glossary for the gentiles."
A dozen short reprints that cover the Jewish experience from the Afikomen (the Passover matzoh) to Zionism. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DOLLMAKER'S DAUGHTERS by Abigail Padgett
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Feb. 6, 1997

"337, etc.), which ratchets Padgett's imaginative grasp of evil, and the unrelenting tension it spawns, to dizzy new heights. (Author tour)"
A troubled 15-year-old tricked out in gothic finery, complete with a porcelain doll named Kimmy chained to her wrist, collapses in a club called The Goblin Market at the same moment that the comatose twin sister whose memory she's long repressed except for her name—Kimmy—finally slips over the edge to death on the other side of town. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HERB'S PAJAMAS by Abigail Thomas
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 31, 1998

"Herb's Pajamas is a disappointing whole that comes to much less than the sum of its parts."
A curiously uneven gathering of four very loosely linked stories. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TRIA AND THE GREAT STAR RESCUE by Rebecca Kraft Rector
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2001

"It's an awkward debut, hung about with massive coincidences and typecast supporting characters, but Rector writes easy, engaging prose, and never lets the pace lag for longwinded explanations. (Fiction. 10-12)"
Fans of Sadler's Zenon Kar, Girl of the 21st Century (2001), take note: here's another futuristic adventure featuring a plucky but vulnerable preteen saving the day while fussing over personal issues. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Sept. 5, 2006

"More of a scrapbook than a full-fledged memoir, but still an affecting account of guilt, shame and acceptance."
Fiction-writer Thomas (An Actual Life, 1996, etc.) examines the challenges confronted after a tragic accident forced her to remake her life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY JEWISH YEAR by Abigail Pogrebin
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 14, 2017

"A sentimental journey through Judaic practice and thought."
A Jewish writer takes an educational journey through the feasts and fasts of the religious calendar. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 18, 2016

"Read this entertaining book and you will be convinced that house cats are 'the most transformative invaders the world has ever seen'—except for humans, of course."
The intriguing history of how house cats found their way onto our hearths and into our hearts. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GOLDEN BOY by Abigail Tarttelin
Released: May 21, 2013

"This lengthy coming-of-age story spliced with 'issues' trades on empathy rather than strong storytelling and seems pitched at a younger readership."
Adolescent angst reaches a whole new level after a sexual assault forces intersex Max (who has equal numbers of female and male chromosomes) to rethink his identity. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RECIPES FROM THE DUMP by Abigail Stone
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 1995

"Funny and true, good and wry, but needs stirring. (First printing of 35,000; author tour)"
A debut novel that's skimpy on plot but abundant in humor and plain truththe necessary ingredients in a blue-collar single mom's own recipe for survival. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JAMES VAN ALLEN by Abigail Foerstner
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 1, 2007

"A sturdy account of an important if uncontroversial figure in American space research."
A wholly inclusive biography of the famed physicist, often called the father of space science, from Foerstner (Science and News Writing/Northwestern Univ.; Picturing Utopia: Bertha Shambaugh and the Amana Photographers, 2000). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THREE SQUARES by Abigail Carroll
Released: Sept. 10, 2013

"A dense but enjoyable history of American food culture."
An information-packed history of American eating habits. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT COMES NEXT AND HOW TO LIKE IT by Abigail Thomas
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 24, 2014

"A moving and eloquent memoir."
A former book editor and memoirist's account of the remarkable 35-year friendship that sustained her through the trials and tribulations of adult life. Read full book review >