Search Results: "Aifric Campbell"


BOOK REVIEW

ON THE FLOOR by Aifric Campbell
Released: June 25, 2013

"Campbell's story, interwoven with the outbreak of the Gulf War, excels when she concentrates on the little details that make her characters interesting."
Former investment banker Campbell peppers her debut novel with dense financial industry jargon in this study of a woman at a crossroads in life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HUG MACHINE by Scott Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 26, 2014

"In his first outing as an author, Campbell shines. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A feel-good ride, full of droll artistic asides and an abundance of caring. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MERMAID AND THE SHOE by K.G. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2014

"Although this luminous tale of self-discovery has echoes of 'The Little Mermaid,' like Minnow, it sings its own strong song. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Unlike her talented older sisters, a little mermaid feels disappointingly ordinary until her curiosity unveils her special skills. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CARTBOY GOES TO CAMP by L.A. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 10, 2014

"Fans of the first will probably be disappointed; at best, it's a desperation read-alike for Big Nate or Wimpy Kid. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 9-12)"
Can Hal survive Camp Jamestown or will he becometh history? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CARTBOY AND THE TIME CAPSULE by L.A. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 3, 2013

"A certain series starter (thankfully), given the promise of an interesting summer in the final pages. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Bad enough history class is so boring; now it's keeping Hal from getting his own room. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BLACK DIAMOND DETECTIVE AGENCY by Eddie Campbell
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 1, 2007

"The veteran artist rises to a new challenge."
A visually stunning graphic narrative with all sorts of complicated plot twists. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LESTER'S DREADFUL SWEATERS by K.G. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2012

"Children forced to wear horrid clothing made by well-meaning relatives will laugh in sympathy with Lester. If Edward Gorey and Polly Horvath had a literary love child, this would be it. (Picture book. 5-9)"
Cousin Clara, who may or may not be related to the rest of the family, knits horrid sweaters at a breakneck speed. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WATER BABY by Ross Campbell
FRIENDS AND SCHOOL
Released: June 24, 2008

"Trying to be edgy with its no-holds-barred dialogue, this latest offering in the Minx line misses the mark and comes off as crude and at times, offensive. (Graphic novel. YA)"
Writer and artist Campbell introduces Brody, a rude surfer chick with a bad attitude who lives and plays by her own rules. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DYLAN THE VILLAIN by K.G. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 23, 2016

"Dylan may have his flaws, but he does his name proud. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Dylan Snivels wants to make a name for himself. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE STRUGGLES OF JOHNNY CANNON by Isaiah Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 13, 2015

"A sprawling, good-hearted adventure—pure fun. (Historical fiction. 8-12) "
In the sequel to The Troubles of Johnny Cannon (2014), Johnny Cannon's life in little Cullman, Alabama, is anything but peaceful. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ONE SAFE PLACE by Ramsey Campbell
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 1, 1996

"Deserves daring celluloid."
Perhaps Campbell's most inspired suspense novel yet, rivaling Midnight Sun (1990), though purged of horror and the supernatural. Read full book review >