Search Results: "Aimee Molloy"


BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 7, 2011

"Especially timely given recent events throughout the Middle East, this book is recommended for anyone wishing to better understand the workings of a police state."
This harrowing memoir provides an illuminating glimpse into the security apparatus of one of the world's most repressive countries. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: April 30, 2013

"Uplifting and inspirational, particularly for those interested in international development."
The story of American development worker Molly Melching's founding and expansion of Tostan, an NGO focused on bringing awareness of human rights and a sense of empowerment to people living in remote African villages. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 16, 2009

"Skillfully written account of finding hope after grief."
A Missouri hair-salon owner confronts personal tragedy by rescuing at-risk children overseas. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Nov. 19, 2010

"A remarkable and moving story, despite its meandering structure, of one family's survival against myriad forces of nature."
A woman's reminiscences of her World War II-era childhood in the wilds of French Canada, which was marked by hunger, brutal winters and simple pleasures. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOW TO BREAK BAD NEWS by Tim Molloy
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 1, 2008

"A throwaway product not worth the paper it's printed on."
Associated Press reporter Molloy plumbs the shady side of his trade in a graceless debut about a narcissistic muckraker with delusions of grandeur. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE HOUSE ON FALLING STAR HILL by Michael Molloy
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2004

"For some readers, that may be enough. (Fiction. 11-13)"
Long on inventive details, if short on internal logic, this sweeping tale, set largely in an alternate world whose inhabitants ride oversized pigs and birds rather than horses, colorfully opens a (probable) new series from the author of Witch Trade (2001) and its sequels. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WITCH TRADE by Michael Molloy
ADVENTURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2001

"There's not much here for fans of J.M. Barrie, Joan Aiken, Pullman's His Dark Materials, and the like beyond a sense of déjà vu. (Fiction. 11-13)"
A novelist for adults tries for a younger audience with a condescending, thinly disguised pastiche of classic and recent fantasies. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Survival Time: A Handbook for Surviving a Violent Incident by Aimee Olivas
NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 27, 2015

"A short, reasonable guide to surviving violent situations.
"
A psychologist and his daughter offer readers advice on how to handle dangerous encounters. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

INFATUATE by Aimee Agresti
YOUNG ADULT
Released: March 5, 2013

"Nevertheless, this stands atop the current heap of angel books. (Paranormal suspense. 12 & up)"
This sequel to the well-imagined Illuminate (2012) falls off slightly but continues the mostly interesting story. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SEA CHANGE by Aimee Friedman
FICTION
Released: June 1, 2009

A watery and predictable supernatural romance. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WILLFUL CREATURES by Aimee Bender
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 16, 2005

"A handful of real moments, presented with bite and wit."
Second story collection from a keen stylist (The Girl in the Flammable Skirt, 1998) intent on rewriting the grim fable of modern life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE KINGDOM OF HAPPINESS by Aimee Groth
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 21, 2017

"An intriguing business/sociological chronicle with wider implications for modern corporate practices."
An investigation into the social experiments at the corporate headquarters of Zappos that raises some important questions about entrepreneurship, business management methods, and human values. Read full book review >