Search Results: "Akiko Busch"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: June 1, 1999

"This cozy book provides provocative and intelligent insights that land close to home."
An appealing, insightful collection of musings on the architecture, psychology, and history of house and home in America. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: July 1, 2007

"Discomfiting, but memorable."
"When it began to feel as though my life had become defined by a series of divides," writes cultural journalist Busch (Geography of Home, 1999, etc.), "it seemed to be the time to take a swim." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE INCIDENTAL STEWARD by Akiko Busch
NON-FICTION
Released: April 22, 2013

"Sure to inform and delight nature lovers."
Essayist and former Metropolis contributing editor Busch (Patience: Taking Time in an Age of Acceleration, 2010, etc.) shows how ordinary people can play an important role in protecting the natural environment simply by "paying attention" to the creatures around us. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

MAKE A NIGHT OF IT
by Julie Danielson

I had dinner with a friend the other night, who is, like me, the mother of a thirteen-year-old. We talked about how one of our daughters (that would be mine) shows no signs of wanting to grow up. My friend told me that, when she was a child, she longed to be an adult. I hear my adult friends now ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE STORM by Akiko Miyakoshi
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2016

"Atmospheric and engaging; this Japanese import is a perfect rainy-day read. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Beach-day hopes are dashed by a storm, but in slumber a mighty ship outruns the tempest; and in the morning, the protagonist finds the promise of a new day. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WAY HOME IN THE NIGHT by Akiko Miyakoshi
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 4, 2017

"Originally published in Japan, this reflective, dreamy tale with its timeless art is a must for the bedtime shelf. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A fully anthropomorphic mother rabbit carries her sleepy bunny home as the youngster contemplates the comforting sights and sounds of the city at night. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DUST TO DUST by Benjamin Busch
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 20, 2012

"Competently written, though weighed down by a narrative more tenuous than tangible."
One man's philosophical explorations into the trials of childhood, adulthood and the Marine Corps. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LETTERS TO A FICTION WRITER by Frederick Busch
Released: June 1, 1999

"Busch's collection embodies good writing."
Prominent writers of fiction dispense copious, often conflicting, and largely entertaining advice to beginners and sundry others who feel called to publish short stories and novels. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHORES OF LOST ATLANTIS by Charles Busch
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 4, 1993

"Despite a cavalier attitude to sexuality, there's much here to amuse anyone, regardless of orientation: the perfect crossover formula that's worked so well for Busch on stage."
Camp playwright and drag actor Busch debuts with a fictional re-creation of his off-Broadway career—a success story that's part middle-brow Oscar Wilde and very much a gay soap opera. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NORTH by Frederick Busch
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: May 1, 2005

"This writer's failures are indeed more interesting than many of his contemporaries' successes. Still, North is a disappointment."
The search for a missing youth jump-starts Busch's brooding latest, a loose sequel to his 1997 stunner, Girls. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RESCUE MISSIONS by Frederick Busch
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2006

"These stories reaffirm Busch's familiar vision of good deeds counting for little in a dangerous world."
The missions of the title give a thematic unity to this dark collection of 15 stories from Busch (North, 2005, etc.), who died last February. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TEA PARTY IN THE WOODS by Akiko Miyakoshi
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2015

"As beguilingly surreal as the Mad Hatter's party, with its own enigmatic appeal. (Picture book. 4-8)"
When Kikko wakes up to snow, her father goes off to clear the walk around Grandma's house but forgets the pie he was to take with him. Read full book review >