Search Results: "Akiko Ida"


BOOK REVIEW

COFFEE-TIME TREATS by Jose Marechal
NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"A charming, glossy book of sweet Parisian morsels."
Delectable, butter-heavy French delights made easy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE STORM by Akiko Miyakoshi
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2016

"Atmospheric and engaging; this Japanese import is a perfect rainy-day read. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Beach-day hopes are dashed by a storm, but in slumber a mighty ship outruns the tempest; and in the morning, the protagonist finds the promise of a new day. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WAY HOME IN THE NIGHT by Akiko Miyakoshi
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 4, 2017

"Originally published in Japan, this reflective, dreamy tale with its timeless art is a must for the bedtime shelf. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A fully anthropomorphic mother rabbit carries her sleepy bunny home as the youngster contemplates the comforting sights and sounds of the city at night. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE INCIDENTAL STEWARD by Akiko Busch
NON-FICTION
Released: April 22, 2013

"Sure to inform and delight nature lovers."
Essayist and former Metropolis contributing editor Busch (Patience: Taking Time in an Age of Acceleration, 2010, etc.) shows how ordinary people can play an important role in protecting the natural environment simply by "paying attention" to the creatures around us. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MOON IS GOING TO ADDY'S HOUSE by Ida Pearle
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 7, 2015

"Exquisite, electrifying, soothing, and soporific, brilliant in color and execution, this book beams. (Picture book. 2-8)"
Addy spots the moon as she leaves her city play date and marvels as it follows her all the way back to her country home. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TEA PARTY IN THE WOODS by Akiko Miyakoshi
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2015

"As beguilingly surreal as the Mad Hatter's party, with its own enigmatic appeal. (Picture book. 4-8)"
When Kikko wakes up to snow, her father goes off to clear the walk around Grandma's house but forgets the pie he was to take with him. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE JOURNEY by Ida Fink
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 1, 1992

"One of the keener, skilled Holocaust testaments that pierces into the dusk of nightmare and a world drained of humanity."
The author, who was born in Poland in 1921 and lived in hiding throughout WW II, has concentrated with devastating effect on the anguish of ordinary people thrust into horror (the story collection A Scrap of Time, 1987). Read full book review >

BLOG POST

MAKE A NIGHT OF IT
by Julie Danielson

I had dinner with a friend the other night, who is, like me, the mother of a thirteen-year-old. We talked about how one of our daughters (that would be mine) shows no signs of wanting to grow up. My friend told me that, when she was a child, she longed to be an adult. I hear my adult friends now ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: July 1, 2007

"Discomfiting, but memorable."
"When it began to feel as though my life had become defined by a series of divides," writes cultural journalist Busch (Geography of Home, 1999, etc.), "it seemed to be the time to take a swim." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: June 1, 1999

"This cozy book provides provocative and intelligent insights that land close to home."
An appealing, insightful collection of musings on the architecture, psychology, and history of house and home in America. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A CHILD’S DAY by Ida Pearle
ABC BOOKS
Released: Sept. 1, 2008

"These collage illustrations attempt to convey the whimsy of childhood innocence in bygone days, but adults are more likely to appreciate this nostalgic work. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Robert Louis Stevenson's poem "To Any Reader" acts as the inspiration for this celebration of traditional youthful play in Pearle's debut. Read full book review >