Search Results: "Alexander Maitland"


BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 1, 2011

"For those nostalgic about for the glory days of the British empire, this biography should have a certain appeal."
An eccentric explorer in the tradition of T.E. Lawrence, Wilfred Thesiger (1910-2003) lived with tribal warriors in Africa, traveled on camel through the Arabian desert and journeyed to the hitherto-unknown source of the Awash river in Ethiopia. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE RAVEN'S EYE by Barry Maitland
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 12, 2013

"The complications may be far-fetched, but Maitland's ability to root them deeply in the psychology of his characters and spring surprises that seem as inevitable as they are unexpected make for another deeply satisfying case."
The financial pinch has come to the Metropolitan Police's Homicide and Serious Crime Squad, along with all manner of cutting-edge technology that's supposed to allow the police to do more with less. And it would be hard to say which of the two is the bigger problem. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MALCONTENTA by Barry Maitland
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 1, 2000

"The ever-more-loose-cannon-coppers structure lends the escalating revelations about Alex Petrou and his employers a depth, bite, and nuance that are well worth the inevitable implausibility."
Exiled for a year from the Metropolitan Police to the Family and Juvenile Crime unit in the Kent County CID, Detective Sergeant Kathy Kolla thinks she'd like nothing better than a juicy sudden death. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHELSEA MANSIONS by Barry Maitland
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Nov. 1, 2011

"Satisfyingly rich fare for puzzle addicts and conspiracy theorists alike, capped by a string of climactic fireworks that are still exploding in the very last paragraph."
A pair of murders apparently related only by their proximity in time and place—London's normally homicide-free Chelsea district—provides the latest challenge for the Met's DI Kathy Kolla and DCI David Brock (Dark Mirror, 2009, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ASH ISLAND by Barry Maitland
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 1, 2016

"Once again, Maitland plots and writes with furious intensity. Though this second chapter in the Belltree trilogy assumes considerable knowledge of the first and ends as inconclusively as you'd expect, it certainly does a fine job setting fans up for the third and final chapter."
DS Harry Belltree ruffled and singed so many feathers in Sydney Homicide in his explosive first appearance (Crucifixion Creek, 2014, etc.) that he's been rusticated to far-off Newcastle. It's not nearly far enough to ensure the safety of himself, his blind, pregnant wife, Jenny, or assorted well-connected lowlifes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COMPANY OF LIARS by Karen Maitland
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 7, 2008

"Decidedly not your English teacher's Chaucer, but creepy, suspenseful fun."
Nine pilgrims try to outrun the Black Death in first novelist Maitland's sensational take on The Canterbury Tales. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BABEL by Barry Maitland
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 1, 2003

"Maitland has always been a notable spinner of mysteries, but his fifth case continues to extend his range, depth, and mastery into Ruth Rendell territory."
The shooting of a controversial prof in front of horrified witnesses reunites shaky DS Kathy Kolla, sidelined after the traumatic showdown of Silvermeadow (2002), with Chief Inspector David Brock. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CRUCIFIXION CREEK by Barry Maitland
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 10, 2015

"First of a series. Though you'll wonder early and often how Harry can possibly survive for any sequels, you'll hope again and again to be proved wrong."
The creator of DS Kathy Kolla and DCI David Brock, those ornaments of the Met (The Raven's Eye, 2013, etc.), goes Down Under to feature an even more hard-used cop. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 17, 2012

"A poignantly rendered, impeccably researched tale of a rupture healed by time."
Love lost in Alsace during World War II, rediscovered 50 years later in New Jersey. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SPIDER TRAP by Barry Maitland
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 4, 2007

"Though Maitland (No Trace, 2006, etc.) is never less than sensitive and professional, Brock and Kolla's delayed-action ninth case is their most routine."
A schoolboy's grisly discovery in South London takes DCI David Brock on a most unsentimental journey into a case he fumbled long ago. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE VERGE PRACTICE by Barry Maitland
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: July 1, 2004

"Despite the story's tendency to split into two unrelated parts, Maitland burrows so deeply into the lives of Charles Verge, his associates, and the investigators that you'd think he was channeling P.D. James."
Chief Inspector David Brock and Sergeant Kathy Kolla (Babel, 2003, etc.) consider the fate of a prominent architect who's disappeared without a trace. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALL MY ENEMIES by Barry Maitland
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Sept. 15, 2009

"Average for this outstanding series—in other words, a must-read for fans of the British procedural, with a hair-raising denouement."
While completists wait for October and Kathy Kolla's latest case (Dark Mirror), they can savor the 1996 novel that introduced her to the Met's Serious Crime Division, though not yet to the United States. Read full book review >