Search Results: "Alexander Pushkin"


BOOK REVIEW

PUSHKIN by T.J. Binyon
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 20, 2003

"The meteoric arc of a literary titan's life, narrated with a Greek tragedian's attention to his fatal flaws. (16 pp. of photos and 76 illustrations in text)"
Russia's answer to Shakespeare and Goethe is transformed from iconic to all-too-human status in this deliberately paced biography. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PUSHKIN by Elaine Feinstein
NON-FICTION
Released: May 26, 1999

"But for the general reader with no knowledge of Russian, it offers a solid introduction to this literary giant. (8 b&w illustrations)"
An accessible biography that emphasizes the contradictions in Pushkin's personality and how they contributed to his early death. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PUSHKIN by Robin Edmonds
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 28, 1995

"Still, to the reader looking for access to Pushkin and Russian history, this should provide an adequate point of entry."
A study of Russia's great writer in his historical context, this conveys the stifling atmosphere of 19th-century tsarist Russia without illuminating Pushkin's literary genius. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PUSHKIN HILLS by Sergei Dovlatov
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 11, 2014

"A black comedy of eyes-wide-open excess in the vein of Frederick Exley's A Fan's Notes or David Gates' Jernigan. And a fine rumination on being Russian, besides."
Soviet émigré Dovlatov died in New York in 1990, and since then, his reputation in America, bolstered late in life by the New Yorker and by fans, including Kurt Vonnegut, has faded. With luck, that reputation will be restored and enhanced by the first English publication (with a lively, playful translation by his daughter Katherine) of this brief, fabulous, partly autobiographical 1983 novel.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TALE OF TSAR SALTAN by Alexander Pushkin
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 1996

"The story is little more than a beam on which to hang the artwork: delicately executed, intricate paintings of scenery and costume, animals and magical events, in which Spirin shows Russian culture in all its splendor. (Picture book/folklore. 5-8)"
A tale by Pushkin, based—according to the copyright page—on a translation by Pauline Hejl and adapted for the picture-book form. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALEXANDER MCQUEEN by Andrew Wilson
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"Wilson ably and unsparingly portrays the heady, competitive, solipsistic world that celebrated, and ultimately doomed, McQueen."
The astonishing creations and tormented life of British fashion designer Alexander McQueen (1969-2010). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Feb. 1, 1998

"A sympathetic and judicious appraisal that will deepen the understanding of this remarkable man."
A slightly odd but ultimately very satisfying biography of a man who, in terms of political and historical impact, has been called ``the dominant writer of this century.'' George Kennan described The Gulag Archipelago as ``the most powerful single indictment of a political regime ever to be levelled in modern times.'' The irony is that the indictment came not from the West, but from a heroic survivor of the Gulag. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STROLLS WITH PUSHKIN by Abram Tertz
Released: Feb. 16, 1994

"Read Tertz before the long essay by co-translator Nepomnyashchy."
Fabulously amusing mock-academic flight of fantastic literary criticism about Russia's beloved national poet, Aleksandr Pushkin, written in 1966-67 by Tertz/Andrei Sinyavsky (Goodnight!, 1989; Little Jinx, 1992, etc.) while serving the first of seven years in a Soviet labor camp. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALEXANDER HAMILTON by Jean Fritz
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Jan. 1, 2011

"The volume comes to an unfortunately perfunctory conclusion with Hamilton's death in his duel with Aaron Burr, though source notes add interesting additional reading. (Biography. 9-12)"
His enemies may have called him an outsider, but Alexander Hamilton was loyal to his adopted country. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALEXANDER HAMILTON by Willard Sterne Randall
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 10, 2003

"A sturdy and readable life, in company with Randall's other portraits of the Revolutionary generation."
A revealing but measured biography of the younger Founding Father, who, to the horror of libertarians ever since, "[drew] up a blueprint for a relationship between government and money." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEING ALEXANDER by Nancy Sparling
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 1, 2002

"Readable and funny, though it turns a little mushy in the end."
A first novel that fulfills almost every revenge fantasy ever dreamed of—about a young man who overcomes his shyness. Read full book review >