Search Results: "Alfred Birnbaum"


BOOK REVIEW

Released: May 13, 1991

"But, still, a useful and lively introduction to a new generation of Japanese writers."
A collection of short stories, excerpts from novels, and one manga comic from Japan's ``Brat Pack'' that, with one exception, have not previously appeared in the US. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A BURDEN OF FLOWERS by Natsuki Ikezawa
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 1, 2001

"It all feels like a book Ikezawa felt obliged to write. Plodding and undistinguished."
The ordeal of a young Japanese artist framed for selling drugs in Indonesia is the subject of this melodramatic prizewinning novel by the author of Still Lives (1987). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALL SHE WAS WORTH by Miyuki Miyabe
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Feb. 1, 1997

"Fans of Ross Macdonald and Julian Symons will have no trouble seeing why."
In preparation for his marriage to Shoko Sekine, Jun Kurisaka urges her to apply for a credit card in her own name. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALFRED KROPP by Rick Yancey
ADVENTURE
Released: May 1, 2007

"Fans of the first episode, The Extraordinary Adventures of Alfred Kropp (2005), will not be disappointed. (Fiction. 10-14)"
Modern technology meets ancient legend as readers climb aboard Alfred Kropp's thrill ride to save the world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALFRED STIEGLITZ by Richard Whelan
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Aug. 21, 1995

"Apart from being a first-rate biography, Whelan's study provides a lively cultural history of Stieglitz's day. (b&w photos, not seen)"
A solid, straightforward biography of one of the pioneering forces of early 20th century American art and photography. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALFRED HITCHCOCK by Michael Wood
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 24, 2015

"The breadth of Hitchcock's career and personal life defies easy summation, but Wood's quickly paced, informative biography is a welcome primer for anyone interested in learning more about one of film's most important figures."
A brief portrait of cinema's most iconic silhouette, Alfred Hitchcock (1899-1980). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALFRED DIGS by Lindsay Barrett George
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 2008

"Strewn but not crowded with letters, and animals or objects to match, this pleasant excursion through the ABCs is just the ticket for audiences ready to emerge from pre-literacy. (Picture book. 3-5)"
Alfred's not the most obedient of aardvarks, but he may be the cutest. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALFRED HITCHCOCK by Peter Ackroyd
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 25, 2016

"Ackroyd writes of his enigmatic subject, 'he did not want anyone to come too close.' Alas, readers of this book will not get as close to that subject as they might like."
A celebrated biographer adds to the tall pile of biographies about cinema's master of suspense. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALFRED NOBEL by Kathy-jo Wargin
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Feb. 1, 2009

A picture-book biography of the inventor of dynamite and creator of the Nobel Prizes fills a niche but oversimplifies somewhat in so doing. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 1, 2003

"Master-ful. (32 pages b&w photos, not seen)"
The Master of Suspense finally gets an authoritative life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALFRED AND EMILY by Doris Lessing
Released: Aug. 5, 2008

"At age 89, the author may be slowing down a trifle, but the best parts here are as bracing and engaging as anything she's written in the past 30 years."
In her first post-Nobel book, Lessing (The Cleft, 2007, etc.) imagines what her parents' life—and England—would have been like if World War I had never happened. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: April 1, 1989

Breezy, cheeky biography of the man who, as director of New York's Museum of Modern Art (MOMA), dominated modern art for decades. Read full book review >