Search Results: "Alfred C. Martino"


BOOK REVIEW

PINNED by Alfred C. Martino
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: March 1, 2005

"As the championship match nears, the story becomes increasingly gripping, but it has a disappointingly unresolved ending, a daring but ultimately failed move that leaves the reader feeling unsatisfied and frustrated. (Fiction. 12-14)"
Unsparing and told with such visceral acuity that the reader can almost feel the burn of the mat, author Martino meticulously details the kind of guts it takes to get the glory. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OVER THE END LINE by Alfred C. Martino
FICTION
Released: July 1, 2009

"Unfortunately, a sudden shift from teen problem-novel to an ending lifted from a B-horror movie keeps this story from truly soaring. (Fiction. YA)"
Jonny Fehey begins his senior year concerned that Kyle Saint-Claire has changed and their friendship is dissolving. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PERFECTED BY GIRLS by Alfred C. Martino
FICTION
Released: Nov. 1, 2011

"There's always a need for more sports stories for girls, and this is a solid addition to the genre. (Fiction. 13-16)"
It's a busy year for Melinda Drake Radford as she wrestles on the JV team—and with other challenges of her sophomore year, too. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FINDING BUCK McHENRY by Alfred Slote
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 15, 1991

"A solid, accessible, rewarding story. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Contriving, remarkably, to fashion a second thoughtful yet entertaining sports story around baseball cards (cf. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MELANCHOLY OF DEPARTURE by Alfred DePew
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 1, 1992

"A voice somewhat too slick for its own brave sympathies."
Winner of this year's Flannery O'Connor Award for Short Fiction, DePew has impressive skills at hair-down narration and offhand wisdoms. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GLORY by Alfred Coppel
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 1993

"A bland and ponderous opener."
Thriller-writer Coppel's only previous sf appearance was Dark December (1960); this one kicks off a far-future story-cycle about ancient, starships that, impelled to relativistic velocities by faster-than-light tachyon particles striking their solar sails, spend hundreds of years wafting cargo between far-flung colonies. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW


"An engaging thriller with added appeal for fans of Robert Ludlum and Mario Puzo."
A Marine turned art thief becomes entangled in a complicated scheme that leads to the unraveling of his past in this winning mystery/thriller. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 3, 2003

"Despite the inevitable omissions—his warmly democratic tribute to the New York Public Library being the most egregious—an enthralling introduction to the work of a man who 'lived to read' and conveyed that passion to his own readers for half a century."
Selections from the distinguished late critic's books and articles highlight his sense of kinship with American writers from Hawthorne to Didion. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WIMBLEDON by John McPhee
NON-FICTION
Released: May 15, 1972

"Notwithstanding this is a luxury item at the price — only for those who so love the game that they know the value of a steel racket."
McPhee's text — a chapter on Wimbledon 1970 and one describing the work of lawnskeeper Robert Twynam — is as well executed as a service ace, although you might have read it all before in The New Yorker or A Roomful of Hovings (1968) where the Twynam piece has previously appeared or Playboy which ran the other one last year. Read full book review >