Search Results: "Algy Craig Hall"


BOOK REVIEW

DINO BITES! by Algy Craig Hall
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 5, 2013

"This may be slight, but it's also tasty fun that goes down easily and is sure to provoke demands for seconds (and thirds and…). (Picture book. 3-5)"
More of a snack than a full-course meal, this brief, briskly-paced adventure will nonetheless capture the attention of the very youngest dinosaur fans—and give the adults reading aloud a good giggle too. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MAMMOTH AND ME by Algy Craig Hall
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 6, 2012

"A simple, engaging tale, with a subtle lesson. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Can a boy find a place for his new best friend, a misfit mammoth? Read full book review >

BLOG POST

A ROMANTIC NOD TO WOMEN’S HISTORY MONTH
by Bobbi Dumas

As we close out March, I thought it would be a nice salute to women’s history month to focus on some great historical romance and some truly terrific romance heroines!

First off, I wanted to give a major shout-out to a debut novel that was released this week, Lisa Berne’s You May Kiss the Bride (which earned a starred review ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

LOVE & LAUGHTER BY CHAPTERS
by Bobbi Dumas

I’ve written think pieces, essays, book reviews, blog posts, etc., etc., etc. on the amazing power of romance novels - how they make us feel better, uplift us, create community for many women (and some men), help us feel secure in a sometimes hostile world, and on and on and on.

I know not everyone agrees with me on this, but ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

FAVORITES AND NEW DISCOVERIES
by Bobbi Dumas

Hi friends!

As I prepare for another year to roll in, I thought I’d share some of my favorite reads and new discoveries from 2016.

Some of you may know this has been a bit of a tumultuous year for me, but I was blessed to travel to a number of conferences, including RT, RWA, Chicago North’s Spring Fling, and ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

PRINCE OF THE BIRDS by Amanda  Hall
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2005

"Trimming Irving's elaborate language, Hall's version is still colorful and slightly exotic, and much more suited to its younger audience. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Hall's story follows its inspiration, Washington Irving's tale of the Pilgrim of Love from his Alhambra, and uses some familiar fairytale tropes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EVERYONE SLEEPS by Marcellus Hall
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 2, 2013

"An inventive if not wholly successful look at the nighttime world of nature. (Picture book. 3-6)"
An imaginative pug with insomnia explores the night world of sleeping animals with a dreamlike narrative in rhyming text. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CAT TALE by Michael Hall
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2012

"Smart and accessible, charming and witty, this is one for educators and adventurers alike. (Picture book. 3-5)"
Hall cleverly plays with homophones in this diverting word adventure. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WONDERFALL by Michael Hall
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"A haunting journey through autumn and a lovely triumph. (Picture book/poetry. 4-8)"
Using the point of view of a tree as his visual constant, Hall offers 15 poems inspired by mashed-up words—"Peacefall," "Plentifall," and so on—to discover autumn's many delights. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE i by Michael Hall
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 5, 2017

"An inventive alphabet book for the perceptive reader. (Picture book. 4-7)"
This unusual alphabet adventure features the little letter i. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PERFECT SQUARE by Michael Hall
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2011

"Young readers will absorb the visual lessons effortlessly and with delight. (Picture book. 4-8)"
The volume, like its subject, is a perfect square, welcoming readers into a colorful, geometric romp. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE STOLEN SUN by Amanda  Hall
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2001

"This, coupled with her unique perspective on a common theme, make the dramatic read-aloud an easy addition to multicultural collections. (Picture book/folktale. 5-9)"
Weaving together important themes in Native Alaskan culture, Hall (The Hard to Swallow Tale of Jonah and the Whale, not reviewed, etc.) creates a hauntingly original story. Read full book review >