Search Results: "Alisa M. Libby"


BOOK REVIEW

THE KING’S ROSE by Alisa M. Libby
FICTION
Released: March 1, 2009

"More drama than history, this suspenseful, downright racy tale will send readers hurtling headlong toward the novel's bitter end. (Fiction. 15 & up)"
Romance novels often tell stories of women imprisoned by circumstance but whose hearts, and other parts, ache for true love. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BLOOD CONFESSION by Alisa M. Libby
FICTION
Released: Aug. 1, 2006

"Those few readers who make it through the plodding bulk will be rewarded with a suspenseful and creative final quarter that reinvigorates the early fairy-tale theme. (Fiction. YA)"
In 16th-century Hungary, a conceptually interesting but sluggishly paced gothic horror unfolds. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

M by Peter Robb
NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 10, 2000

"A compelling portrait of the painter as outsider and provocateur; a first-rate evocation of both a genius and the violent times in which he lived. (16 pages illus.)"
An exuberant attempt to penetrate the mysteries surrounding the astounding paintings and brief, turbulent life of the Italian artist who has come to be known as Caravaggio. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

M by Andrew Cook
NON-FICTION
Released: July 15, 2005

"For Bond fans and true-crime buffs, especially, a leisurely excursion into the early days of modern espionage."
A beat cop makes good, and anarchists quake. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE M&M BOYS by Lara Reznik
Released: Nov. 8, 2014

"Just like its heroes, what this book lacks in sophistication it makes up for in heart; a warm, enjoyable baseball story."
A troubled kid learns valuable lessons about love, honor and friendship during the home-run race of 1961. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 9, 2010

"A true-adventure story that also documents how prisoner abuse and recriminations spurred the federal commitment to the 'total war' that ravaged the South."
The harrowing, little-known story of the 109 Union officers who escaped from a Richmond prison in 1864—an episode that deserves a higher place in Civil War lore. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

M TRAIN by Patti Smith
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 6, 2015

"Not as focused as Just Kids, but an atmospheric, moody, and bittersweet memoir to be savored and pondered."
Iconic poet, writer, and artist Smith (Just Kids, 2010, etc.) articulates the pensive rhythm of her life through the stations of her travels.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

M and M by John A. Peak
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Nov. 1, 2002

"An accomplished actioner with unfulfilled hints of something deeper."
What could be worse than a 17-week-old infant admitted to Gunnison Memorial Hospital showing signs of traumatic brain injury from grabbing, shaking, and banging? Dr. Vicki Shea, who's returned to medicine and finished a pediatric residency since last seen as a medical malpractice attorney (Mortal Judgment, 1999), finds out when she's assigned the case of Charlotte Sanderson, stilled by injuries her mother, Julia Wilkins-Sanderson, insists are the result of a highly improbable accident. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIBBY ON WEDNESDAY by Zilpha Keatley Snyder
Released: March 1, 1990

"A grand, multileveled novel."
Five seventh-grade winners of a writing competition are required to form a creative writing workshop where their diversity—which at first makes them unwilling, even hostile, collaborators—eventually draws them together as friends. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIBBY OF HIGH HOPES by Elise Primavera
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 12, 2012

"A solid choice for horse lovers ready to move past early chapter books. (Fiction. 8-12)"
It takes a while, but high hopes finally pay off for a horse-loving girl. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: March 1, 1996

"Adds little to Civil War literature."
Stalag 17 on the Chickahominy River, with Bluecoat and Secesh stand-ins for Cookie and Sergeant Schultz. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIBBY AND PEARL by Lindsey Bonnice
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"Fans of Libby and Pearl will enjoy these best friends in book form, however fleeting their notoriety may be. (Picture book. 1-5)"
A sweet and cheery celebration of the Pink Frilly Dress phenomenon starring a delightfully photogenic toddler and a pink piglet. Read full book review >