Search Results: "Alison Edgson"


BOOK REVIEW

ME AND MY DAD! by Alison Ritchie
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2007

"More and more titles are emerging that celebrate the special bond between fathers and their children; this one adds beautifully to that genre. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A playful and loving father and son spend a delightful day bonding together, from a wake-up nose tickle to a final nighttime cuddle. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MOMMY'S LITTLE SUNFLOWERS by Angela McAllister
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2014

"Sure to appeal to those who like their children's books saccharine. Everyone else should pass. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A tale of two young mice that go off on an adventure to first replace then plant a sunflower seed, from the pair who created Yuck! That's Not a Monster! (2010). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ME AND MY MOM! by Alison Ritchie
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 2009

"An easy sell in this season, but both mothers and their children deserve better than this calculatedly cute concoction. (Picture book. 2-5)"
A rather slim but shaggy and perpetually smiling mother bear and her baby disport themselves through the seasons in this companion to 2007's Me and My Dad! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEAR'S HOUSE OF BOOKS by Poppy Bishop
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2017

"A sweet if inessential affirmation of the pleasures of reading. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Yet another picture-book paean to the pleasure of reading. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I WANT MY DADDY by Tracey Corderoy
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2015

"This companion to I Want My Mommy (2013) offers a charming story about father-child bonding. (Picture book. 3-6)"
When little mouse Arthur encounters trouble, he knows just whom to call—Daddy! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE PUPPY LOST by Linda Jennings
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2008

"The very definition of saccharine. (Picture book. 3-6)"
When Ollie and his siblings go out to play in the snow for the first time, they have a wonderful romp until they are frightened by a barking spaniel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JUST ONE MORE! by Tracey Corderoy
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2012

"Corderoy may be on to something here—Little Brown Bunny's transformation from listener to author could prove inspiring. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A story-loving tot's desire for bedtime reading to last longer leads him to try his hand at being an author. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHEN WILL IT SNOW? by Kathryn White
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"A reassuring way to address that age-old heartbreak of feeling left out and having to miss fun times with friends. (Picture book. 3-7)"
This lament will strike an emotional chord with anyone who bemoans missing even a minute of fun. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PIRATES AREN'T AFRAID OF THE DARK! by Maudie Powell-Tuck
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"Sweet and sugary and not much else. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Pirates may not fear the dark, but how do they feel about fairy-obsessed little siblings? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WAITING FOR SANTA by Steve Metzger
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"Children who have a hard time waiting for Christmas will enjoy seeing these little animal kindred spirits. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Bear and his friends in the forest make preparations for Santa's arrival on Christmas Eve, but only Bear truly believes Santa will come. Read full book review >