Search Results: "Alison Edgson"


BOOK REVIEW

MOMMY'S LITTLE SUNFLOWERS by Angela McAllister
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2014

"Sure to appeal to those who like their children's books saccharine. Everyone else should pass. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A tale of two young mice that go off on an adventure to first replace then plant a sunflower seed, from the pair who created Yuck! That's Not a Monster! (2010). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I WANT MY DADDY by Tracey Corderoy
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2015

"This companion to I Want My Mommy (2013) offers a charming story about father-child bonding. (Picture book. 3-6)"
When little mouse Arthur encounters trouble, he knows just whom to call—Daddy! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JUST ONE MORE! by Tracey Corderoy
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2012

"Corderoy may be on to something here—Little Brown Bunny's transformation from listener to author could prove inspiring. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A story-loving tot's desire for bedtime reading to last longer leads him to try his hand at being an author. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHEN WILL IT SNOW? by Kathryn White
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"A reassuring way to address that age-old heartbreak of feeling left out and having to miss fun times with friends. (Picture book. 3-7)"
This lament will strike an emotional chord with anyone who bemoans missing even a minute of fun. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WAITING FOR SANTA by Steve Metzger
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"Children who have a hard time waiting for Christmas will enjoy seeing these little animal kindred spirits. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Bear and his friends in the forest make preparations for Santa's arrival on Christmas Eve, but only Bear truly believes Santa will come. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I WANT MY MOMMY! by Tracey Corderoy
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2013

"This winning tale with considerable child appeal will entertain young readers whether they suffer from a bit of separation anxiety or not. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Though he is distressed that his mother is going out for the whole day without him for the first time, Arthur and Grandma do their best to play through his bouts of moodiness and engage in some adventurous fun. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PIRATES AREN'T AFRAID OF THE DARK! by Maudie Powell-Tuck
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"Sweet and sugary and not much else. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Pirates may not fear the dark, but how do they feel about fairy-obsessed little siblings? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ME AND MY DAD! by Alison Ritchie
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2007

"More and more titles are emerging that celebrate the special bond between fathers and their children; this one adds beautifully to that genre. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A playful and loving father and son spend a delightful day bonding together, from a wake-up nose tickle to a final nighttime cuddle. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE PUPPY LOST by Linda Jennings
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2008

"The very definition of saccharine. (Picture book. 3-6)"
When Ollie and his siblings go out to play in the snow for the first time, they have a wonderful romp until they are frightened by a barking spaniel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEAR'S HOUSE OF BOOKS by Poppy Bishop
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2017

"A sweet if inessential affirmation of the pleasures of reading. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Yet another picture-book paean to the pleasure of reading. Read full book review >