Search Results: "Alison McGhee"


BOOK REVIEW

SNAP by Alison McGhee
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2004

"Skilled writing and a fresh voice give this common theme a new life. (Fiction. 9-12)"
Desperate to create some order in her world, Eddie makes lists obsessively and wears a rainbow of rubber bands on her wrists to remind her of the important things in life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NEVER COMING BACK by Alison McGhee
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 10, 2017

"Fierce, complicated characters appear to grow out of the severe Adirondack landscape, and McGhee swerves away from sentimentality in addressing the relentlessly changing relationship at the novel's core."
A luminous novel about a daughter who attempts to make peace with her mother, who's been diagnosed with early-onset Alzheimer's disease; McGhee revisits characters from Shadow Baby (2000). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FIREFLY HOLLOW by Alison McGhee
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 18, 2015

"This sweet and memorable tale deserves both a sequel and a film version. (Fantasy. 7-11)"
Firefly and Cricket, two tiny animals with big dreams, challenge the status quo by befriending a miniature giant (a boy named Peter)—and by pursuing their destinies with the help of an old river vole. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CASE OF THE MISSING DONUT by Alison McGhee
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 1, 2013

"Packed with personality, from the pastries to the people to the delightful deputy dog, this sweet confection is sure to satisfy. (Picture book. 3-6)"
This simple story of a Wild West enthusiast with a penchant for pastry will tickle the funny bones of young listeners and parents alike. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JULIA GILLIAN by Alison McGhee
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 2008

"A fresh, winsome heroine learns a lesson about facing her fears in this first of an anticipated series. (Fiction. 7-10)"
Nine-year-old Julia Gillian goes out of her way to avoid unhappy endings. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JULIA GILLIAN (AND THE DREAM OF THE DOG) by Alison McGhee
ANIMALS
Released: July 1, 2010

"Kozjan's frequent drawings (final art not seen) add a cheerful touch. (Fiction. 9-12)"
Now in sixth grade, Julia Gillian copes with her fear of eighth graders, a stubborn third-grade reading buddy as reading-averse as she is and her dog Bigfoot's last illness. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SWEETEST WITCH AROUND by Alison McGhee
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 5, 2014

"The contrast between the sister's understanding and depicted reality is not enough to maintain this 32-page joke. (Picture book. 4-7)"
In the companion title to A Very Brave Witch (2006), the gutsy, green-skinned girl hopes to teach her little sister to be courageous as well. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STAR BRIGHT by Alison McGhee
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 30, 2014

"An understated, appealing story with fine integration between the succinct text and imaginative illustrations. (Picture book/religion. 4-8)"
This charming addition to the gifts-for-baby-Jesus theme imagines the origin of the bright star shining over Bethlehem at the Nativity. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ONLY A WITCH CAN FLY by Alison McGhee
ADVENTURE
Released: July 1, 2009

"Like its protagonist, this book soars. (Picture book. 3-7)"
"If you were a young witch, who had not yet flown, / and the dark night sky held a round yellow moon…" Well, you'd want to fly, wouldn't you? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE BOY by Alison McGhee
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2008

"This is a beautiful reminder to all that these days will pass all too quickly and must be savored—the perfect gift for harried new parents. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A gentle look at the minutiae that make up life's learning moments and the importance they hold as building blocks for the future. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SOMEDAY by Alison McGhee
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: March 27, 2007

"McGhee's homage to the unbroken bond that connects mothers to their children is a gift to share across generations. (Picture book. All ages)"
From a new mother's first moments with her infant to the seasoned perspective of a grandmother in the twilight of her life, McGhee triumphs in her tribute to the steadfast constancy of a mother's love. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BINK & GOLLIE by Kate DiCamillo
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 23, 2013

"There may be no new ground broken, but there is still another bumper crop of fun to be had with these two BFFs. (Early reader. 6-8)"
Fans of Bink and Gollie will be pleased to welcome them back in three more humorous linked adventures that, as in their earlier appearances, play off their differences but ultimately affirm their mutual affection. Read full book review >