Search Results: "Alison Ritchie"


BOOK REVIEW

ME AND MY MOM! by Alison Ritchie
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 2009

"An easy sell in this season, but both mothers and their children deserve better than this calculatedly cute concoction. (Picture book. 2-5)"
A rather slim but shaggy and perpetually smiling mother bear and her baby disport themselves through the seasons in this companion to 2007's Me and My Dad! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ME AND MY DAD! by Alison Ritchie
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2007

"More and more titles are emerging that celebrate the special bond between fathers and their children; this one adds beautifully to that genre. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A playful and loving father and son spend a delightful day bonding together, from a wake-up nose tickle to a final nighttime cuddle. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TORTOISE AND THE HARE by Alison Ritchie
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 12, 2015

"The sophisticated graphics lack the warmth and variety needed to justify yet another rendering of this oft-told fable. (Picture book. 2-4)"
Flat graphic images in pastel colors reinterpret the well-known tale. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT BEAR LIKES BEST! by Alison Ritchie
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 2005

"Playing with friends really is the thing to like best. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Bear, a joy-filled creature, is having a lovely relaxing time traipsing through a chalky bright meadow with nothing to do but rest, splash, scratch, swing and skip. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DUCK SAYS DON'T! by Alison Ritchie
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2012

"Despite the forced whimsy of the illustrations, the book positively reeks of a Lesson to be Learned, so it is just about as much fun as Duck. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Goose leaves Duck in charge when she leaves her pond, with unhappy results. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALISON, WHO WENT AWAY by Vivian Vande Velde
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: March 1, 2001

"The denouement, which comes in a seriocomic run to a funeral parlor the night of the eighth-grade dance, feels a little forced, but the unfolding of Susan's family's anguish is done at just the right pace, with each shard of emotion placed precisely. (Fiction. 12-14)"
Susan—who now wants people to call her Sibyl—is 14 and fiercely angry. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ALISON RULES by Catherine Clark
FICTION
Released: Aug. 1, 2004

"Several cuts above the standard teen-weepie. (Fiction. YA)"
The Alison Rules are never specifically codified as such, but they are all based on one organizing premise: to keep Alison from moving beyond her mother's death from cancer the previous summer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DROWNING OF ALISON ALYWARD by Genevieve Lyons
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: April 1, 2001

"Veteran Lyons (Green Years, 1989, etc.) turns in a performance as low-key, neatly written, and steadily entertaining as ever."
Mark Dangerfield, antique-book dealer and sometime detective in Maggie Thatcher's London, is asked by socialite Wendy Cadbury, a friend of his mother's, to investigate the drowning death of her young friend Alison Alyward, officially a suicide. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALISON DARE: THE HEART OF THE MAIDEN by J. Torres
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 11, 2010

"An ambitious concept in need of some polish. (Graphic adventure. 9-12)"
An extremely promising premise disappoints with its flat, awkward construction. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SEE WHAT WE EAT! by Scot Ritchie
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 5, 2017

"A solid nutritional primer that is sure to get mouths watering for healthy food…and apple crisp. (recipe, glossary) (Informational picture book. 4-8)"
Ritchie's group of friends from Look Where We Live! and Follow That Map! (2015, 2009) this time take a trip to Yulee's aunt's farm to see where food comes from and collect the ingredients for an apple crisp for the community potluck dinner. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LOOK WHERE WE LIVE! by Scot Ritchie
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2015

"An excellent addition for the community shelf, this minimizes didacticism while encompassing many aspects of the topic that are missing from other entries. (glossary, table of contents) (Informational picture book. 4-8)"
The five friends from Ritchie's mapping expedition (Follow That Map!, 2009) now explore their community, helping out along the way. Read full book review >