Search Results: "Alison Ritchie"


BOOK REVIEW

ME AND MY DAD! by Alison Ritchie
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2007

"More and more titles are emerging that celebrate the special bond between fathers and their children; this one adds beautifully to that genre. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A playful and loving father and son spend a delightful day bonding together, from a wake-up nose tickle to a final nighttime cuddle. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TORTOISE AND THE HARE by Alison Ritchie
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 12, 2015

"The sophisticated graphics lack the warmth and variety needed to justify yet another rendering of this oft-told fable. (Picture book. 2-4)"
Flat graphic images in pastel colors reinterpret the well-known tale. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ME AND MY MOM! by Alison Ritchie
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 2009

"An easy sell in this season, but both mothers and their children deserve better than this calculatedly cute concoction. (Picture book. 2-5)"
A rather slim but shaggy and perpetually smiling mother bear and her baby disport themselves through the seasons in this companion to 2007's Me and My Dad! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DUCK SAYS DON'T! by Alison Ritchie
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2012

"Despite the forced whimsy of the illustrations, the book positively reeks of a Lesson to be Learned, so it is just about as much fun as Duck. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Goose leaves Duck in charge when she leaves her pond, with unhappy results. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT BEAR LIKES BEST! by Alison Ritchie
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 2005

"Playing with friends really is the thing to like best. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Bear, a joy-filled creature, is having a lovely relaxing time traipsing through a chalky bright meadow with nothing to do but rest, splash, scratch, swing and skip. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FEDERICA by Scot Ritchie
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2017

"There's plenty of yuck-factor silliness, and the penultimate spread, of the family uniting for 'cleanup hour,' is very inviting. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Dirty dishes, food and leaves on the floor, mice, nasty insects like big-eyed flies, spiders, mice, a butterfly or two—what is a tidy little girl to do? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SEE WHAT WE EAT! by Scot Ritchie
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 5, 2017

"A solid nutritional primer that is sure to get mouths watering for healthy food…and apple crisp. (recipe, glossary) (Informational picture book. 4-8)"
Ritchie's group of friends from Look Where We Live! and Follow That Map! (2015, 2009) this time take a trip to Yulee's aunt's farm to see where food comes from and collect the ingredients for an apple crisp for the community potluck dinner. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

P'ÉSK'A AND THE FIRST SALMON CEREMONY by Scot Ritchie
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 15, 2015

"Though there's not much of a storyline, the book is a good initial introduction to a lesser-known First Nations people. (Informational picture book. 6-8)"
A glimpse of life along British Columbia's Harrison River, a millennium ago. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FOLLOW THAT MAP! by Scot Ritchie
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2009

"A fun, if muddled, introduction to maps. (Picture book. 5-7)"
Kids like maps. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY HOUSE IS ALIVE! by Scot Ritchie
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 15, 2016

"If nothing else, the spot-on matching of sounds to reasonable explanation may reassure kids that the disturbing noises a house can make aren't just being imagined—or maybe that it's monsters outside that are making a ruckus. (Informational picture book. 4-8)"
Mysteries of strange house noises are demystified in a picture book that brings the science while having its imaginative cake, too. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LOOK WHERE WE LIVE! by Scot Ritchie
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2015

"An excellent addition for the community shelf, this minimizes didacticism while encompassing many aspects of the topic that are missing from other entries. (glossary, table of contents) (Informational picture book. 4-8)"
The five friends from Ritchie's mapping expedition (Follow That Map!, 2009) now explore their community, helping out along the way. Read full book review >