Search Results: "Allen Jones"


BOOK REVIEW

FAIR WINDS TO WIDDERSHINS by Allen Jones
ADVENTURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"A fast and jolly gambol, with four more promised. (Steampunk. 7-10)"
Quest adventure, animal fantasy and baby steampunk all figure into this second madcap romp around the universe with hedgehogs Esmeralda and Trundle. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FIRE OVER SWALLOWHAVEN by Allen Jones
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2012

"Fast-moving quest fantasy with cool vocabulary and a quickly written vibe. (Animal steampunk. 7-10)"
Fighting pirates and waking a phoenix in a volcano are the two primary events in this third installment of a six-part outer-space animal-steampunk adventure. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TRUNDLE'S QUEST by Allen Jones
ADVENTURE
Released: April 1, 2011

"Readers who revel in collections and patterns will enjoy finding the crystal crown here and will look forward to the next five books that promise the next five crowns. (Fantasy. 7-10)"
In a bizarre but good-natured genre mashup, two hedgehogs run around outer space fighting pirates and seeking talismans. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A BLOOM OF BONES by Allen Morris Jones
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 15, 2016

"Jones (Last Year's River, 2001, etc.) has written a most American of novels, bristling with hard truths."
Eli Singer is a renowned poet whose artistic sensibilities are like "[Wendell] Berry meets Bukowski," but his elegant verse is crafted by a haunted man. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LAST YEAR’S RIVER by Allen Morris Jones
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 22, 2001

"Slow and pretentious if occasionally affecting."
The former editor of Big Sky Journal, not surprisingly, trudges in the sensitive/macho tradition of Jim Harrison and Cormac McCarthy in his first novel, a love story set in Wyoming during the 1920s. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

6 BOOKS FOR EARLY 2017
by Ana Grilo

Who’s excited that 2016 is coming to an end soon? I know I am, and I already started wish-listing all the awesome-looking 2017 releases and preparing my challenges and goals for 2017. One of them is to continue my Time Travel Project (in which I read as many books featuring time travel as I can, old and new) and the ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

LUMBERJANES TO THE MAX
by Julie Danielson

Have you heard the happy Lumberjanes news? Lumberjanes: Unicorn Power! is on shelves now from New York Times bestselling author Mariko Tamaki. She has adapted the comic book series to novel format for middle-grade readers, complete with spot illustrations from Brooke Allen. I chatted, very briefly, with Tamaki, who is excited about this new project. But then, for the love ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

HOLLY GODDARD JONES
by Megan Labrise

Holly Goddard Jones had written 100 pages of a horror story about killer ticks when she found out she was pregnant. Through her son’s first years and a second pregnancy, she wrote and rewrote The Salt Line, finishing final edits just one month before her daughter was born.

“Once I was dealing with motherhood and all the anxiety around it ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

ITSY MITSY RUNS AWAY by Elanna Allen
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 3, 2011

"The irresistible tug of clever language combines with visual pizzazz to make this runaway story a runaway hit. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Itsy Mitsy may be teeny tiny, but she has BIG issues with bedtime. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ERIKA-SAN by Allen Say
by Allen Say, illustrated by Allen Say
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 26, 2009

"Expert angles and a touching sense of stillness make this piece visually masterful even while conceptually disquieting. (Picture book. 5-7)"
Say's hallmark watercolors, beautifully composed and superbly detailed, illustrate this slightly unsettling shift of homeland. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Feb. 1, 2012

"This inspiring account of caring for a loved one with a brain injury will help guide anyone in a similar situation."
One couple's tale of struggle and ultimate triumph over a debilitating brain injury as relayed by both patient and caregiver. Read full book review >