Search Results: "Alli Arnold"


BOOK REVIEW

I LOVE YOU, LITTLE MONSTER by Ellen Weiss
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 1, 2012

"This rowdy little one is likable enough, but he is no Max, and many parents may think his mother is a lunatic. (Board book. 1-3)"
A mother shines a sunny light on her babe's rambunctious behavior. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE VALEDITZTORIAN by Alli Jay Curran
ROMANCE
Released: Sept. 15, 2013

"Entertaining chick lit that's just what the doctor ordered."
A clumsy medical student pratfalls her way through relationships, family feuds and scientific breakthroughs in this winsome romantic comedy. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

LIKING THE UNLIKABLE
by Leila Roy

I know it’s not cool to define yourself by a boy. Girls are supposed to be independent, these days. We should be Strong Female Characters, we should be tough and self-motivated and grrrrrls instead of girls. We’re supposed to run the world—girls—and look unapologetically into the camera. We don’t have to smile. We can cross our arms or curl our ...
Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

VINCENT PAINTS HIS HOUSE by Tedd Arnold
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 15, 2015

"So very Van Gogh and so very satisfying! (Picture book. 3-8)"
The conceit at the center of this celebration of art and color? Tell a pleasingly repetitive tale featuring the Dutch post-impressionist Vincent Van Gogh without ever mentioning his full name. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RIDE, FLY GUY, RIDE! by Tedd Arnold
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2012

"Keep flying, Fly Guy! (Early reader. 4-8)
"
A ride in the car has never been scarier—or this much fun Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GREEN WILMA, FROG IN SPACE by Tedd Arnold
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2009

"What gives Wilma a touch of the special is her equanimity; after all, she finds herself in some pretty strange precincts, but she keeps her cool and her focus, even though she never gets the fly. (Picture book. 3-5)"
More than 15 years ago, Green Wilma made a splashy, absurdist debut (Green Wilma, 1993), and now Arnold has splendidly resurrected the young frog. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PARTS by Tedd Arnold
by Tedd Arnold, illustrated by Tedd Arnold
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 1997

"Stupid, silly, and base, in equal measure, this has watercolor illustrations that are textured with colored-pencil curlicues in such a way that they look hairy—like the tangles that clog a shower drain. (Book-of-the- Month Club) (Picture book. 4-8)"
Arnold (The Simple People, 1992, etc.) cashes in by grossing out the picture-book set in this story in rhyme, which kids with rough-and-ready sensibilities will relish and fastidious adults will shun, for the same reasons. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NATURAL HISTORY FROM A TO Z by Tim Arnold
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 30, 1991

Plants and animals are presented alphabetically here to illustrate concepts and principles of biology, from anteaters and aardvarks used as examples of convergent evolution to zebra finches, which build elaborate nests. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHY, FLY GUY? by Tedd Arnold
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 10, 2017

"Cogent answerzz to a range of common puzzzlers. (glossary, index) (Nonfiction. 6-9)"
Fly Guy and his human best bud, Buzz, present answers to over 50 science questions, including "Why are wheels round?" and "Why do my feet smell?" Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DIRTY GERT by Tedd Arnold
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2013

"Vegans, locavores, farm-to-table enthusiasts, take note—Gert is as organic as they come and a genuine delectation, worms and all. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A sweet little ragamuffin, by nature and nurture, is drawn to dirt. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ELEPHANTS CAN PAINT TOO! by Katya Arnold
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2005

"Beautiful photography displaying children, elephants and artwork set in a well-designed layout of large multi-colored text, coupled with green boxes filled with facts in a bold black font, add to the book's unique subject matter and appeal. (Nonfiction. 6-9)"
Art teacher Arnold, together with her artist husband, embarked on a project to support the diminishing number of Asian elephants. Read full book review >