Search Results: "Alvin Jenkins"


BOOK REVIEW

ALVIN HO by Lenore Look
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 9, 2013

"Alvin's excitable, first-person narration, replete with his realistic attempts to make sense of what he doesn't understand, will again infect readers with its goofiness. (Fiction. 7-10)"
Alvin Ho's lovable, quirky family is due to increase by one in this fifth installment of the warmly funny series, which again features vibrant, playful black-and-white illustrations by Pham. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NEXT STOP NEPTUNE by Alvin Jenkins
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 1, 2004

"A terrific experience indeed. (bibliography) (Nonfiction. 8-12)"
A lucid description of the solar system, grounded in concepts that young readers can grasp, and exquisitely illustrated. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: June 23, 2009

"Another triumph for Alvin Ho. (Fiction. 7-10)"
The second installment in this series about an effervescent but nerve-wracked second grader will please its fans and appeal to new readers as well. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 13, 2011

"A fresh entry in what is overall an exceedingly enjoyable series; readers will cheer this latest. (Fiction. 7-10)"
Nervous second-grader Alvin Ho digs deep to find the bravery to attend a funeral in this playful and poignant fourth offering in the series. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALVIN AILEY by Jennifer Dunning
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 1, 1996

"But there is plenty of reason to wish we did, and Dunning provides a very useful point of entry. (b&w photos, not seen)"
A detailed and well-rounded biography of Ailey (193189), the celebrated African-American dancer and choreographer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALVIN HO by Lenore Look
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 5, 2014

"Pack your bags and prepare to fly. (glossary) (Fiction. 6-10)"
Alvin Ho is at it again. Allergic to everything and all things girly, this 7-1/2-year-old worrywart hops a continent to visit relatives in Beijing. Is China ready for Alvin? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALVIN JOURNEYMAN by Orson Scott Card
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 1, 1995

"Comes close, though."
Fourth in Card's alternate-world series (Prentice Alvin, 1989, etc.) where magic works (people have "knacks") and continental North America is divided among a small United States, English and Dutch colonies, New England, and inviolable Red territory beyond the Mizzipy River. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CILLA LEE-JENKINS by Susan Tan
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 28, 2017

"In the end, this book is too difficult for most of the 7-year-old readers who would like Cilla and features too young a protagonist to interest 10-year-olds ready for books of this length. (Fiction. 7-10)"
An aspiring author grapples with change in her family. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 28, 2010

Back for a third adventure, anxious Alvin Ho faces such terrifying scenarios as a class visit to the houses of famous deceased authors in his Concord, Mass., hometown and negotiating the particulars of being invited to a girl's birthday party, even as he yearns to be invited to the shindig of another (male) classmate. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: July 8, 2008

"A witty glossary and Pham's simple yet expressive line drawings perfectly complement this appealing story about the refreshingly original, endearing Alvin. (Fiction. 7-10)"
Bright, energetic Alvin Ho is about to enter the second grade. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALVIN AILEY by Andrea Davis Pinkney
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Oct. 11, 1993

"A final note fills in some of the facts; this attractive introduction, based on interviews with many who knew Ailey, will leave readers hungry for more. (Biography/Picture book)"
A slightly fictionalized account of the great dancer- choreographer's (1931-89) early training and rise to fame, ending with the triumphant 1960 production of Revelations. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 21, 2014

"Wonderfully cinematic and surreal for readers willing to go with Alvin's flow. (iPad storybook app. 3-7)"
Alvin rides his old mower to visit his brother, taking a slow journey across a beautiful landscape and enjoying the ride. Read full book review >