Search Results: "Amanda Dockery"


BOOK REVIEW

FEAR THE BARFITRON  by M.D. Payne
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 15, 2013

"Buckets full of gross, but are readers guano scoop up an entire series? Snot likely. (Gross-out horror. 10-12)"
A blatant bid for the Goosebumps audience, with added gushes of vomit. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 6, 2002

"An entertaining and informative volume that will appeal to general readers interested in military history or high adventure. (Maps and photos throughout)"
Interviews with Vietnam-era Navy SEALs about their elite training and demanding military service. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DOG EARED by Amanda Harvey
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2001

"Terrific—a dazzling combination of humorous, liquid writing and old-fashioned, tinted line drawings, certain to find a home with anyone who needs a shot of confidence-building. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Otis is a dog, but that doesn't mean he's immune to an insult hurled his way by a passing bully, a spike-collared boxer with a sneer on his mug. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANIMALS
Released: Nov. 1, 1993

"Good idea, nicely developed; attractive book. (Picture book. 3-6)"
This British artist's first book has two distinctions: striking torn-paper collages, handsomely set on royal blue or black and bordered in harmonious geometric designs, representing ``1/one whale,'' ``2/two tigers,'' and so on; and an inspired inclusion that relates to both her theme and an important number concept usually omitted from counting books: after ``10,'' a spread reading simply ``0...but no dodos''—and no picture, either. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TWO'S COMPANY by Amanda Benjamin
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 1995

"Light without being silly, serious yet not solemn, Benjamin's first book hits all the right notes. (Picture book. 3-8)"
A whimsical but respectful look at the anxieties faced by a small child whose parent is remarrying. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WALLY DOES NOT WANT A HAIRCUT by Amanda Driscoll
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 26, 2016

"Cute—but it doesn't stand out from the flock. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Wally's got one wild and wooly problem. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 2, 2002

"Despite the absence of insights, an entertaining life of a member in good standing of a highly elite band of brothers."
As-told-to autobiography of a member of the Navy's elite SEAL special-force unit. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TEASE by Amanda Maciel
YOUNG ADULT
Released: April 29, 2014

"An emotional, deftly paced and heartbreaking first novel. (Fiction. 14-18)"
An intense examination of bullying from a seldom-heard-from side: the bully's. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TORN by Amanda Hocking
Released: Feb. 28, 2012

"More is exactly what they will be looking for once they've turned the last page. (Paranormal romance. 14 & up)"
The second installment of the Trylle trilogy picks up right where the first (Switched, 2012) left off, with 17-year-old Wendy Everly returning home to her "host brother" after disappearing without a trace almost a month prior. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FAIRY BAD DAY by Amanda Ashby
FANTASY
Released: June 9, 2011

"Give this lighthearted and lightly satirical book to younger teens and those preteens who won't be put off by the length. (Paranormal adventure. 12 & up)"
Teens with a taste for the paranormal school story and a tolerance for raucous humor will be involved with and amused by this romantic fantasy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: May 1, 1999

"Vivid backgrounds, generous use of colors, and amiable creatures contribute to this gleeful tour of the animal kingdom. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Pint-sized sleuths use written and visual clues to discover the identities of their quarry in this diverting and ingenious approach to the standard lift-the-flap format. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 1, 2003

"A yummy treat even for fans of Sanka and Michelob."
Recipes, restaurant critiques, and food lore—all agreeably season New York Times food writer Hesser's beguiling story of her two loves: food and the initially unpromising Mr. Latte. Read full book review >