Search Results: "Amanda Hesser"


BOOK REVIEW

AMANDA by Kay Hooper
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 1, 1995

"A well-traveled path with nary an unpredictable turn. (Literary Guild alternate selection)"
A first hardcover for the popular Hooper provides all the requisite thrills, chills, and hot-blooded romance, but this southern-style mystery, love story, should-be-a-TV-movie-of-the- week somehow lacks soul. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 1, 2003

"A yummy treat even for fans of Sanka and Michelob."
Recipes, restaurant critiques, and food lore—all agreeably season New York Times food writer Hesser's beguiling story of her two loves: food and the initially unpromising Mr. Latte. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AMANDA BEAN'S AMAZING DREAM by Cindy Neuschwander
BEDTIME BOOK
Released: Aug. 1, 1998

"At the end of the book, Marilyn Burns (The Greedy Triangle, 1995, etc.) does a credible, if prim, job of explaining the broad contexts of multiplication to adults working with children. (Picture book. 6-10)"
The protagonist in this story has a sort of low-grade obsessive/compulsive disorder: "I count anything and everything," chirps Amanda. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AMANDA/MIRANDA by Richard Peck
FICTION
Released: March 11, 1980

"All in all, a gorgeously romantic, implausible affair comfy as eiderdown."
Peck has unearthed one of the hoariest of chimney-corner romantic devices—the wobbly course of love and intrigue when two young things of diverse origins and temperament look exactly alike and cross destinies; and he displays it here in late-Edwardian satin, with agile prose and a straight face. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE AMANDA PROJECT by Stella Lennon
FICTION
Released: Oct. 1, 2009

"A baldly predatory attempt to get into teens' wallets. (Mystery. 14 & up)"
According to popular Callie, Amanda Valentino was a quirky math genius who lived in a pretty, Victorian house. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AMANDA BRIGHT@HOME by Danielle Crittenden
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 12, 2003

"Humorless policy-paper material, as if a right-wing Naomi Wolf were to write a novel."
First fiction from a well-known advice-giver to mothers (What Our Mothers Didn't Tell Us, 1999), and the founder of Women's Quarterly. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HUNTING DOWN AMANDA by Andrew Klavan
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 1, 1999

"Without the humor that lightened True Crime (1995), but, still, certain to please readers who like their entertainment with literary flourishes. And, yes, there is a cave of Tartarean darkness. ($300,000 ad/promo)"
Edgar-winning Klavan (The Uncanny, 1998, etc.) offers a stylish new thriller that turns on a jazz variation of the Orpheus and Eurydice legend. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW


"A gratifying piece of humble adventure."
Former schoolteacher Childs documents a hot-air balloon ride in this picture book. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AMANDA PANDA QUITS KINDERGARTEN by Candice Ransom
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 20, 2017

"Empathy and kindness are just as important as ABCs and 123s, and Amanda gives readers a good lesson. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Amanda Panda starts off an unlikable kindergartner, but school (and exposure to other kids) teaches her how to be a friend, and that might be the most important lesson of all. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GOODBYE, AMANDA THE GOOD by Susan Shreve
Released: March 1, 2000

"The angst of starting out friendless in a new school is written across most pages, and other Amandas out there who find this refreshingly real. (Fiction. 10-13)"
PLB 0-679-99241-3 In Shreve's funny version of a junior high identity crisis, a good girl goes bad, but redeems herself before any real crimes have been committed. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DON'T BE AFRAID, AMANDA by Lilian Moore
ANIMALS
Released: April 30, 1992

"Appropriately, McCord's frequent b&w illustrations are in the cozy Garth Williams tradition. (Fiction. 7-10)"
In a sequel to the appealing I'll Meet You at the Cucumbers (1988), Amanda (the city mouse) makes her first visit to country mouse pen-pal Adam, affording us the pleasure of seeing Adam's bucolic surroundings from her perspective. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AMANDA WAKES UP by Alisyn Camerota
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 25, 2017

"Though it lacks a heavy-hitting sense of purpose, this surface look at how news is made offers food for thought."
Journalism and entertainment blur in this story of a rising cable news star who lands her dream job only to see her life unravel around her. Read full book review >