Search Results: "Amy Foster"


BOOK REVIEW

AMY by Mary Hooper
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2002

"But the near-universal obsession with chat will nevertheless make this an easy sell, and readers will enjoy this vicarious brush with danger. (Fiction. 11-15)"
A cautionary tale from Britain about love on the Internet demonstrates the influence of online chat on teenage girls on both sides of the Atlantic. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHEN AUTUMN LEAVES by Amy Foster
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Oct. 1, 2009

"A charming debut in the tradition of Practical Magic and The Witches of Eastwick."
Small-town witch looks for her replacement. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FOSTER CARE by Nancy Millichap Davies
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: May 1, 1994

"B&w photo insert; bibliography; index. (Nonfiction. 12+)"
In The Changing Family series, a journalist surveys the history and current status of foster care and the issues involved in placing children outside their immediate families. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE RIFT UPRISING by Amy Foster
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 4, 2016

"This fun, fast-paced thriller will entertain readers looking for their next teens-save-the-world genre fix."
Superpowered teens guarding the gateway to the multiverse...what could go wrong? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AMY SNOW by Tracy Rees
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 7, 2016

"Far too predictable to be truly suspenseful."
The adventures of a foundling who embarks on a treasure hunt in Victorian England. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AMY TAN by Barbara Kramer
BIOGRAPHY
Released: June 1, 1996

Kramer (Alice Walker, 1995) describes in a clear narrative Tan's complex personal history, her intricate Chinese-American family story, and above all, her tangled relationship with her mother as the wellsprings for her fiction. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AMY FALLS DOWN by Jincy Willet
Released: July 9, 2013

"Willett's skill in crafting zany scenes and Amy's acerbic wit are not enough to keep this novel afloat."
Amy Gallup, 60, hasn't published a book in 20 years, and she's settled into a quiet life with her beloved basset hound, Alphonse. None too excited about a newspaper interview she's agreed to give, she trips, knocking herself out on the birdbath just hours before she's scheduled to play the role of has-been local writer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AMY ELIZABETH EXPLORES BLOOMINGDALE'S by E.L. Konigsburg
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 30, 1992

"Understated, witty, and right on target; creatively extended in the author's perceptive, warmly colorful illustrations. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Amy Elizabeth is visiting Grandma in New York; each day, Grandma plans to take her to "Bloomie's," but there's always something else they should do first: walk the dog, visit Chinatown to get green tea, go to a laundromat, or share lox and bagels and the Sunday Times. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AMY CHELSEA STACIE DEE by Mary G. Thompson
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Oct. 11, 2016

"An intelligent, tense psychological drama. (Fiction. 13-18)"
A kidnapped girl returns home after six years. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CALL ME AMY by Marcia Strykowski
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 15, 2013

"Well-drawn, sympathetic characters and the developing spark between Amy and Craig combine to create a pleasant, satisfying read. (Historical fiction. 10-14)"
In a first-person voice that doesn't always quite ring true, Amy describes the events of the spring in which she begins a transformation into young adulthood. Read full book review >