Search Results: "Amy Foster"


BOOK REVIEW

AMY by Mary Hooper
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2002

"But the near-universal obsession with chat will nevertheless make this an easy sell, and readers will enjoy this vicarious brush with danger. (Fiction. 11-15)"
A cautionary tale from Britain about love on the Internet demonstrates the influence of online chat on teenage girls on both sides of the Atlantic. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHEN AUTUMN LEAVES by Amy Foster
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Oct. 1, 2009

"A charming debut in the tradition of Practical Magic and The Witches of Eastwick."
Small-town witch looks for her replacement. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FOSTER CARE by Nancy Millichap Davies
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: May 1, 1994

"B&w photo insert; bibliography; index. (Nonfiction. 12+)"
In The Changing Family series, a journalist surveys the history and current status of foster care and the issues involved in placing children outside their immediate families. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE RIFT UPRISING by Amy Foster
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 4, 2016

"This fun, fast-paced thriller will entertain readers looking for their next teens-save-the-world genre fix."
Superpowered teens guarding the gateway to the multiverse...what could go wrong? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AMY SNOW by Tracy Rees
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 7, 2016

"Far too predictable to be truly suspenseful."
The adventures of a foundling who embarks on a treasure hunt in Victorian England. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AMY TAN by Barbara Kramer
BIOGRAPHY
Released: June 1, 1996

Kramer (Alice Walker, 1995) describes in a clear narrative Tan's complex personal history, her intricate Chinese-American family story, and above all, her tangled relationship with her mother as the wellsprings for her fiction. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AMY FALLS DOWN by Jincy Willet
Released: July 9, 2013

"Willett's skill in crafting zany scenes and Amy's acerbic wit are not enough to keep this novel afloat."
Amy Gallup, 60, hasn't published a book in 20 years, and she's settled into a quiet life with her beloved basset hound, Alphonse. None too excited about a newspaper interview she's agreed to give, she trips, knocking herself out on the birdbath just hours before she's scheduled to play the role of has-been local writer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AMY ELIZABETH EXPLORES BLOOMINGDALE'S by E.L. Konigsburg
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 30, 1992

"Understated, witty, and right on target; creatively extended in the author's perceptive, warmly colorful illustrations. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Amy Elizabeth is visiting Grandma in New York; each day, Grandma plans to take her to "Bloomie's," but there's always something else they should do first: walk the dog, visit Chinatown to get green tea, go to a laundromat, or share lox and bagels and the Sunday Times. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LOVING AMY by Janis Winehouse
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 12, 2016

"Although this book may help others going through the heartbreak of addiction, readers may wonder whether it is helpful to the legacy of Amy Winehouse herself."
Winehouse's candid memoir of life with her award-winning, bestselling, hugely talented, and desperately troubled daughter, Amy Winehouse (1983-2011). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SAVING AMY by Chris Lawrence
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 14, 2013

"A thriller that primes the estimable Regan and (most of) her supporting cast for many more stories to come."
In Lawrence's debut thriller, the shocking torture and murder of a brilliant scientist lead his brother and a forensics expert to investigate the dead man's cancer research. Read full book review >