Search Results: "Amy Foster"


BOOK REVIEW

WHEN AUTUMN LEAVES by Amy Foster
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Oct. 1, 2009

"A charming debut in the tradition of Practical Magic and The Witches of Eastwick."
Small-town witch looks for her replacement. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE RIFT UPRISING by Amy Foster
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 4, 2016

"This fun, fast-paced thriller will entertain readers looking for their next teens-save-the-world genre fix."
Superpowered teens guarding the gateway to the multiverse...what could go wrong? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JANE FOSTER'S 123 by Jane Foster
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 7, 2015

"A fetching and effective introduction to the world of numbers. (Board book. 3 mos.-2)"
A simple and stylish counting book. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIRTHDAYS OF FREEDOM by Genevieve Foster
Released: June 1, 1952

Teachers, parents, and children who have enjoyed and profited from this author's three world biographies of Lincoln, Washington, and Augustus Caesar will be predisposed toward this book, but they should be forewarned that this does not have the same type of horizontal construction that won the other books so many followers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 1, 1998

"From the joint talents of the authors (a librarian and a novelist) comes a winsome biography that takes its subject more seriously than itself. (26 b&w photos, not seen)"
The authors' affection for their subject is warmly communicated in this biography of David-Neel (1868—1969), the French Tibetophile who was the first European woman to explore the once forbidden (to foreigners) city of Lhasa. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHALE PORT by Mark Foster
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 24, 2007

The story of the fictional New England town of Tuckanucket from 1683 to the present entwines story threads of whaling and the growth of the new nation. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 28, 1991

A brief, visually appealing introduction to garbage—where it comes from, where it goes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JANE FOSTER'S NEW YORK by Jane Foster
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 4, 2017

"Foster's tour of New York is a delightful vocabulary builder; her London jaunt is a bit of a muddle. (Board book. 1-3)"
Twenty-two typical and mostly iconic sights offer young readers a taste of the Big Apple. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Nothing Lasts Forever by Althea Foster
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 16, 2016

"A unique story that illuminates the many injustices of an understudied period in colonial history."
A historical novel of survival, set in the world of Australia's infamous "blackbirding" trade. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 6, 1994

"It offers examples of women who have mapped their own roads, who, as Linda Hogan says, lead lives that demonstrate the connection between the love for one's body as it is and the love one feels for the natural earth."
In her foreword to Minding the Body, an impressive collection of writings by women about the female body, Foster recalls her grandmother, a miner's wife in the '30s, telling her, ``When I asked my doctor for some form of birth control after the exhaustion of 12 pregnancies he said impatiently, `You're a woman, Mrs. Baxter. Read full book review >