Search Results: "Amy Foster"


BOOK REVIEW

WHEN AUTUMN LEAVES by Amy Foster
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Oct. 1, 2009

"A charming debut in the tradition of Practical Magic and The Witches of Eastwick."
Small-town witch looks for her replacement. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE RIFT UPRISING by Amy Foster
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 4, 2016

"This fun, fast-paced thriller will entertain readers looking for their next teens-save-the-world genre fix."
Superpowered teens guarding the gateway to the multiverse...what could go wrong? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHALE PORT by Mark Foster
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 24, 2007

The story of the fictional New England town of Tuckanucket from 1683 to the present entwines story threads of whaling and the growth of the new nation. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JANE FOSTER'S 123 by Jane Foster
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 7, 2015

"A fetching and effective introduction to the world of numbers. (Board book. 3 mos.-2)"
A simple and stylish counting book. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIRTHDAYS OF FREEDOM by Genevieve Foster
Released: June 1, 1952

Teachers, parents, and children who have enjoyed and profited from this author's three world biographies of Lincoln, Washington, and Augustus Caesar will be predisposed toward this book, but they should be forewarned that this does not have the same type of horizontal construction that won the other books so many followers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 1, 1998

"From the joint talents of the authors (a librarian and a novelist) comes a winsome biography that takes its subject more seriously than itself. (26 b&w photos, not seen)"
The authors' affection for their subject is warmly communicated in this biography of David-Neel (1868—1969), the French Tibetophile who was the first European woman to explore the once forbidden (to foreigners) city of Lhasa. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JANE FOSTER'S BROWN BEAR COLOR BOOK by Jane Foster
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 4, 2016

"Colorful Brown Bear is a lovely addition to a handsome series, but give Stripy Tiger a pass. (Board book. 18 mos.-3)"
Readers explore a rainbow of colors as they search for the titular bear. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JANE FOSTER'S COLORS by Jane Foster
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 3, 2016

"Lovely, modern, age-appropriate design makes this and its companions excellent choices for sharing with babies and toddlers. (Board book. 0-2)"
This sturdy, fresh, and simple board book, along with two simultaneously publishing companions, builds on Foster's earlier success (Jane Foster's 1 2 3, 2015). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 1, 2011

"A dull account of a largely forgotten American icon."
One of the first media superstars receives an uninspiring biography. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE JOLLY ROGER SOCIAL CLUB by Nick Foster
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 12, 2016

"An engrossing, well-developed true-crime tale, unsettling in its portrayal of the underbelly of its tropical setting."
A juicy, disturbing account of "the world's first capitalist serial killer," who wreaked havoc among unsuspecting expatriates in a remote, hedonistic Panama archipelago. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: June 1, 2001

"Not exactly subtle and more than a little sexist, but the fervor of the wheeling and dealing has its charms."
In industrial realtor Foster's full-throttle debut, almost anything goes in the world of LA commercial real estate as a bad-to-the-bone, frenzied superagent in high heels uses sex, blackmail, and secret partnerships to stay at the head of the pack—until a mild-mannered man of principle comes along to burst her bubble. Read full book review >