Search Results: "Amy Ruth"


BOOK REVIEW

LOUISA MAY ALCOTT by Amy Ruth
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Nov. 3, 1998

"It's also a de facto introduction to transcendentalism. (bibliography, index) (Biography. 10-14)"
This slim, readable entry in the A&E Biography series will appeal to fans of Little Women; Ruth makes extensive use of Alcott's journal writings and letters and makes clear where real life and fiction converged. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

FAVORITES OF 2016 - PART TWO
by Leila Roy

Last week, I started my annual roundup of favorite books of the year with my standout reads from January to March.

Today, I’ll be looking at April through June.

Let’s jump right in!

April: The Lie Tree, by Frances Hardinge

While I don’t know if I’ve ever been able to name a NUMBER ONE FAVORITE BOOK of any given year ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

MAKING OLD STORIES NEW WITH DONNA JO NAPOLI
by Julie Danielson

Adventure, magic, love, and betrayal. That’s what the sub-title of Donna Jo Napoli’s newest book, Tales From the Arabian Nights, promises readers. In this ambitious and handsomely-designed collection, illustrated by Christina Balit, Napoli gathers a selection of these ancient stories, 45 of the original 1,001 “nights.” Her respect for the legendary tales is evident in not only her ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

BAD DOG FLASH by Ruth Paul
by Ruth Paul, illustrated by Ruth Paul
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 7, 2014

"This No, David! with a canine protagonist should appeal to a broad audience, whether dog lovers or not. (Picture book. 3-5)"
A humorous story about a lovable, troublemaking puppy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SAINTS by Ruth Sanderson
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Feb. 1, 2003

"Young people might be particularly drawn to Catherine, pictured with both a book and a sword, and portrayed almost as a princess on the striking cover. (index) (Collective biography. 9-12)"
Forty stories of Christian saints from the first millennium are illustrated with appropriately gorgeous, pencil-and-oils-on-paper art. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CRYSTAL MOUNTAIN by Ruth Sanderson
Released: Sept. 1, 1999

"Sanderson's lush, detailed oil paintings are perfectly suited to the theater of fairy tale, where blood red bays may be summoned by a whistle's trill, and heroes climb mountains of crystal to reach palaces inhabited by velvet-clothed princesses. (Picture book/folklore. 7-10)"
A retelling of the Chinese legend of the magic brocade, here set in 15th-century Europe, combined with elements from the Norwegian tale about the princess and the glass hill. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PAPA GATTO by Ruth Sanderson
adapted by Ruth Sanderson, illustrated by Ruth Sanderson
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 1995

"And if there's little here that readers haven't seen before, it's so remarkably executed that it's well worth seeing again. (Picture book/folklore. 4-8)"
Cinderella meets Puss-in-Boots in a tale that takes place against the opulent backdrop of 16th-century Italy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HEDGEHOG'S MAGIC TRICKS by Ruth Paul
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 23, 2013

"A lovely lesson: If at first you don't succeed...then count on your friends to help get it right. (Picture book. 3-5)"
In story and artwork as delicate as milkweed floss, Paul tells the story of young Hedgehog's tribulations as a budding magician. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TALE OF TWO MICE by Ruth Brown
ANIMALS
Released: Dec. 1, 2008

"In design and plot something of an anti-Peter Rabbit, this unusual adventure beckons preschoolers ready for a chill or two. (Novelty/picture book. 4-8)"
"Once upon a time, there was a big old house." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GOLDILOCKS by Ruth Sanderson
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2009

"The good news is there's no need to choose; buy both and feature them on holiday gift lists. (Picture book/folktale. 4-7)"
It's a golden year when two equally artistically rendered versions of this classic story are published. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ROAD TO MUMBAI by Ruth Jeyaveeran
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 30, 2004

"For a sweeping, evocative glimpse of India's spectacular diversity, young readers could do no better than this good-humored, vivacious debut. (glossary) (Picture book. 6-8)"
Young Shoba and her long-tailed companion Fuzzy Patel are off to a monkey wedding in Mumbai (Bombay)—but the road turns out to be longer than expected, looping about much of India, as a closing map reveals. Read full book review >