Search Results: "Amy Ruth"


BOOK REVIEW

LOUISA MAY ALCOTT by Amy Ruth
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Nov. 3, 1998

"It's also a de facto introduction to transcendentalism. (bibliography, index) (Biography. 10-14)"
This slim, readable entry in the A&E Biography series will appeal to fans of Little Women; Ruth makes extensive use of Alcott's journal writings and letters and makes clear where real life and fiction converged. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

YOUR KISSES ARE AS WICKED AS AN F-16
by Sarah Pitre

 

BOOK REPORT for Kissing Ted Callahan (And Other Guys) by Amy Spalding

Cover Story: Not So Punk Rock
BFF Charm: Yay!
Swoonworthy Scale: 6
Talky Talk: LOL
Bonus Factors: Best Guy Friend, I'm With the Band, LA
Relationship Status: My Plus One

 

Cover Story: Not So Punk Rock

The DIY style of this cover ties in with ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

FAVORITES OF 2016 - PART TWO
by Leila Roy

Last week, I started my annual roundup of favorite books of the year with my standout reads from January to March.

Today, I’ll be looking at April through June.

Let’s jump right in!

April: The Lie Tree, by Frances Hardinge

While I don’t know if I’ve ever been able to name a NUMBER ONE FAVORITE BOOK of any given year ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

MAKING OLD STORIES NEW WITH DONNA JO NAPOLI
by Julie Danielson

Adventure, magic, love, and betrayal. That’s what the sub-title of Donna Jo Napoli’s newest book, Tales From the Arabian Nights, promises readers. In this ambitious and handsomely-designed collection, illustrated by Christina Balit, Napoli gathers a selection of these ancient stories, 45 of the original 1,001 “nights.” Her respect for the legendary tales is evident in not only her ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SMILEY BOOK OF COLORS by Ruth  Kaiser
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 13, 2012

"See the pictures without the treacly text and upload photo contributions to support Operation Smile at SpontaneousSmiley.com instead. (Picture book. 3-5)"
A photographic collection of found faces smiles up at readers, while overly upbeat rhymes try to instill a positive attitude. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHICKEN, PIG, COW'S FIRST FIGHT by Ruth Ohi
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2012

"Ohi's toys keep getting more real with every outing—what new problem will they tackle next? (Picture book. 1-5)"
The trio of best friends is back (Chicken, Pig, Cow on the Move, 2011), but this time the problem they solve is of their own making. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GRACIE by Ruth Brown
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2011

"Brown's elegant pictures (no one does cats quite like her) suggest, in the best possible way, Classics Illustrated comics, and her story is similarly robust and interesting. (Picture book. 5-8)"
A raging storm is prelude to a miracle at sea. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CLUMSY CRAB by Ruth Galloway
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2005

"Cute, but not the best of the genre. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A seaworthy twist on loving yourself for the gifts you have. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

UP, UP AND AWAY by Ruth Heller
NONFICTION
Released: Nov. 7, 1991

"Just right to lighten up the lesson, even at the high-school level; Heller's admonitions are not only more fun but often clearer than more earnest explanations. (Nonfiction/Picture book. 9+)"
Continuing her unique series on parts of speech (Kites Sail High: A Book About Verbs, 1988), Heller tackles one of the most difficult with her usual panache, coupling a deftly rhymed text with gloriously bold, colorful illustrations (``Some ADVERBS end in WARD, and others...in WISE... Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SHH! MY BROTHER'S NAPPING by Ruth Ohi
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2017

"Families with different-aged siblings will find much to relate to and discuss in this light but observant rendering of an age-old power struggle. (Picture book. 2-4)"
A playfully oblique exposition of the perils and pitfalls of sibling rivalry. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BAD DOG FLASH by Ruth Paul
by Ruth Paul, illustrated by Ruth Paul
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 7, 2014

"This No, David! with a canine protagonist should appeal to a broad audience, whether dog lovers or not. (Picture book. 3-5)"
A humorous story about a lovable, troublemaking puppy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SAINTS by Ruth Sanderson
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Feb. 1, 2003

"Young people might be particularly drawn to Catherine, pictured with both a book and a sword, and portrayed almost as a princess on the striking cover. (index) (Collective biography. 9-12)"
Forty stories of Christian saints from the first millennium are illustrated with appropriately gorgeous, pencil-and-oils-on-paper art. Read full book review >