Search Results: "Ana Baca"


BOOK REVIEW

CHILES FOR BENITO/CHILES PARA BENITO by Ana Baca
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 1, 2003

"Rendered in both Spanish and English, the tale is a natural not only for southwestern libraries, but also for any serving Spanish-speaking patrons. (recipe) (Picture book. 4-8)"
In this New Mexican variation on "Jack and the Beanstalk," Christina's grandmother explains to her the importance of chile peppers to their people by telling her the story of her great-grandfather Benito. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANA IMAGINED by Perrin Ireland
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 2000

"Even Ireland's division of her unsettling evocation into a brief 'beginning' and a long 'middle' acknowledges that stories like Ana's, and Anne's, can have no end."
A novel-within-a-novel whose author chooses a Sarajevo woman glimpsed on a TV newsreel as a way of exorcising her own long-suppressed demons. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TÍA'S TAMALES by Ana Baca
by Ana Baca, illustrated by Noël Chilton, translated by Noël Chilton
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2011

"An embarrassment of riches. (Picture book. 7-12)"
Every family recipe has a flavorful story behind it. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LETTING ANA GO by Anonymous
YOUNG ADULT
Released: June 4, 2013

"A disturbing tale that feels meant to titillate rather than caution. (Fiction. 12-18)"
Anyone familiar with the sensationalist pseudo-diary Go Ask Alice knows it won't end well for an anonymous (fictitious) teen who chronicles her eating disorder. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BENITO’S SOPAIPILLAS/LAS SOPAIPILLAS DE BENITO by Ana Baca
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 30, 2007

"Both English and Spanish versions move smoothly and quickly, and best of all, there's a recipe for the treat at the end. (Picture book. 6-9)"
In her latest, Baca offers another tale about the appealing and not always sensible Benito. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANA OF CALIFORNIA by Andi Teran
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 30, 2015

"Anne of Green Gables fans will rejoice; newcomers will find a satisfying tale; and Ana's high jinks will leave both types of readers smiling and asking for more."
Fifteen-year-old Ana Cortez has spent her life shuttling into, but mostly out of, foster homes. Now she has one last chance to find a home—working on a California farm. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MEMORIES OF ANA CALDERON by Graciela Limón
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 1, 1994

"A preposterous ending ruins this simple tale."
In this artfully written novel about a Mexican woman, Lim¢n (In Search of BernabÇ, not reviewed) offers a soapy plot and scant new insights into the immigrant experience. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 29, 2010

"The amusing present-day touches (the stepsisters do Pilates; Cinderella arrives at the ball in an orange Maserati) don't hurt, either. (iPad storybook app. 4-10)"
More textbook than storybook, this modern take on "Cinderella" is part of a series of language-study apps from educator Ana Lomba. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE IMPROBABLE THEORY OF ANA AND ZAK by Brian Katcher
YOUNG ADULT
Released: May 19, 2015

"Fans of Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist will find con-tentment here. (Fiction. 13-18)"
Two teens discover that their improbable chemistry is just what it takes for a probable relationship. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GROWING UP WITH TAMALES/LOS TAMALES DE ANA by Gwendolyn Zepeda
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 31, 2008

"Young readers will delight in Zepeda's use of repetition and will giggle over the story's jocular ending. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Six-year-old Ana can't wait until she is eight, so she can be more grown-up like her big sister Lidia. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE NIGHT EATER by Ana Juan
by Ana Juan, illustrated by Ana Juan
BEDTIME BOOK
Released: Oct. 1, 2004

"An engaging tale, made even more memorable by Juan's distinctive style and vision. (Picture book. 7-9)"
The illustrator of Campbell Geeslin's Elena's Serenade (2003) again folds humorous and theatrical elements into mystical, surrealist art for an original tale imbued with folkloric overtones. Read full book review >