Search Results: "Ana Benaroya"


BOOK REVIEW

ANA IMAGINED by Perrin Ireland
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 2000

"Even Ireland's division of her unsettling evocation into a brief 'beginning' and a long 'middle' acknowledges that stories like Ana's, and Anne's, can have no end."
A novel-within-a-novel whose author chooses a Sarajevo woman glimpsed on a TV newsreel as a way of exorcising her own long-suppressed demons. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LETTING ANA GO by Anonymous
YOUNG ADULT
Released: June 4, 2013

"A disturbing tale that feels meant to titillate rather than caution. (Fiction. 12-18)"
Anyone familiar with the sensationalist pseudo-diary Go Ask Alice knows it won't end well for an anonymous (fictitious) teen who chronicles her eating disorder. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MEMORIES OF ANA CALDERON by Graciela Limón
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 1, 1994

"A preposterous ending ruins this simple tale."
In this artfully written novel about a Mexican woman, Lim¢n (In Search of BernabÇ, not reviewed) offers a soapy plot and scant new insights into the immigrant experience. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANA OF CALIFORNIA by Andi Teran
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 30, 2015

"Anne of Green Gables fans will rejoice; newcomers will find a satisfying tale; and Ana's high jinks will leave both types of readers smiling and asking for more."
Fifteen-year-old Ana Cortez has spent her life shuttling into, but mostly out of, foster homes. Now she has one last chance to find a home—working on a California farm. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 29, 2010

"The amusing present-day touches (the stepsisters do Pilates; Cinderella arrives at the ball in an orange Maserati) don't hurt, either. (iPad storybook app. 4-10)"
More textbook than storybook, this modern take on "Cinderella" is part of a series of language-study apps from educator Ana Lomba. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE IMPROBABLE THEORY OF ANA AND ZAK by Brian Katcher
YOUNG ADULT
Released: May 19, 2015

"Fans of Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist will find con-tentment here. (Fiction. 13-18)"
Two teens discover that their improbable chemistry is just what it takes for a probable relationship. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GROWING UP WITH TAMALES/LOS TAMALES DE ANA by Gwendolyn Zepeda
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 31, 2008

"Young readers will delight in Zepeda's use of repetition and will giggle over the story's jocular ending. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Six-year-old Ana can't wait until she is eight, so she can be more grown-up like her big sister Lidia. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE NIGHT EATER by Ana Juan
by Ana Juan, illustrated by Ana Juan
BEDTIME BOOK
Released: Oct. 1, 2004

"An engaging tale, made even more memorable by Juan's distinctive style and vision. (Picture book. 7-9)"
The illustrator of Campbell Geeslin's Elena's Serenade (2003) again folds humorous and theatrical elements into mystical, surrealist art for an original tale imbued with folkloric overtones. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IF YOU SEE A COW by Ana Larranaga
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 5, 2015

"A bright and worthy addition to the board-book stack. (Board book. 1-3)"
Little ones learn how to greet animals. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLACK DOVE by Ana Castillo
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 10, 2016

"There are points when the writing veers from emotional into overly sentimental. However, Castillo succeeds more often than she fails, and her book provides a compassionate look at those crossing points in our shared lives."
A memoir of a writer—single, bisexual, mother, feminist—and her thoughts on social injustices, culture, and families. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LAST WAR by Ana Menéndez
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 26, 2009

"A quietly piercing cultural and philosophical think-piece, comparable in its low-key, allusive moodiness to a European art-house movie."
Suspicions regarding her absent husband lead a news photographer into meditation on self-knowledge and conflict in Menéndez's latest (Loving Che, 2004, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IN CUBA I WAS A GERMAN SHEPHERD by Ana Menéndez
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 2001

"A pointed rendering of the human need to idealize what was in order to live with what is."
A debut collection from Miami Herald reporter Menéndez: interconnected stories about Cuban exiles' feelings of displacement in Miami. Read full book review >