Search Results: "Ana Lopez Escriva"


BOOK REVIEW

ANDREW’S BRIGHT BLUE T-SHIRT by Jessica Wollman
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 8, 2002

"738, etc.) homey art gives Andrew the right measure of credulity and determination. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Clothes make the man, or in this case a young fox, in newcomer Wollman's tale of an identity stitched into the fabric of a hand-me-down shirt. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SEYMOUR AND OPAL by Nicole Jussek
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 1, 1996

"The story is mildly amusing, the pictures very sweet and funny, but Opal's largely passive reaction to Seymour's extortion is puzzling. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Seymour and Opal are brother-and-sister rabbits who have adjoining rooms; in fact, Opal must pass through Seymour's room to get to her own. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PLEASE DO FEED THE BEARS by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 2002

"Naylor's wry tale reveals to readers both the shenanigans and solutions that are the result of ingenious thinking. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A family outing to the beach nearly ends in calamity when the youngest member decides to bring along his treasured bears. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LOPEZ LOMONG by Ana Eulate
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 16, 2017

"It's inspiring, but it presents Lomong more as an object lesson than as a living person. (Picture book/biography. 8-10)"
The story of a Sudanese "Lost Boy" who pursued and achieved his dream of running in the Olympics. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CINDERELLA LOPEZ by Berta Platas
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 1, 2006

"Berta's (Friday Night Chicas, not reviewed) Latin-flavored chick-lit leaves no cliché unused."
A Latina's hope for love and success is hampered by an obligation to look after her party-girl stepsisters. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANA IMAGINED by Perrin Ireland
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 2000

"Even Ireland's division of her unsettling evocation into a brief 'beginning' and a long 'middle' acknowledges that stories like Ana's, and Anne's, can have no end."
A novel-within-a-novel whose author chooses a Sarajevo woman glimpsed on a TV newsreel as a way of exorcising her own long-suppressed demons. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LETTING ANA GO by Anonymous
YOUNG ADULT
Released: June 4, 2013

"A disturbing tale that feels meant to titillate rather than caution. (Fiction. 12-18)"
Anyone familiar with the sensationalist pseudo-diary Go Ask Alice knows it won't end well for an anonymous (fictitious) teen who chronicles her eating disorder. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANA OF CALIFORNIA by Andi Teran
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 30, 2015

"Anne of Green Gables fans will rejoice; newcomers will find a satisfying tale; and Ana's high jinks will leave both types of readers smiling and asking for more."
Fifteen-year-old Ana Cortez has spent her life shuttling into, but mostly out of, foster homes. Now she has one last chance to find a home—working on a California farm. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MEMORIES OF ANA CALDERON by Graciela Limón
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 1, 1994

"A preposterous ending ruins this simple tale."
In this artfully written novel about a Mexican woman, Lim¢n (In Search of BernabÇ, not reviewed) offers a soapy plot and scant new insights into the immigrant experience. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 29, 2010

"The amusing present-day touches (the stepsisters do Pilates; Cinderella arrives at the ball in an orange Maserati) don't hurt, either. (iPad storybook app. 4-10)"
More textbook than storybook, this modern take on "Cinderella" is part of a series of language-study apps from educator Ana Lomba. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE IMPROBABLE THEORY OF ANA AND ZAK by Brian Katcher
YOUNG ADULT
Released: May 19, 2015

"Fans of Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist will find con-tentment here. (Fiction. 13-18)"
Two teens discover that their improbable chemistry is just what it takes for a probable relationship. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GROWING UP WITH TAMALES/LOS TAMALES DE ANA by Gwendolyn Zepeda
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 31, 2008

"Young readers will delight in Zepeda's use of repetition and will giggle over the story's jocular ending. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Six-year-old Ana can't wait until she is eight, so she can be more grown-up like her big sister Lidia. Read full book review >