Search Results: "Andrea Beaty"


BOOK REVIEW

DORKO THE MAGNIFICENT by Andrea Beaty
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 2, 2013

"Beaty slips in some important stuff here, but the supporting characters steal the show. (Fiction. 10-12)"
A young would-be magician gets lessons in both stagecraft and life from a crusty elder. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CICADA SUMMER by Andrea Beaty
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2008

"An interesting extension for Nancy Drew fans, this may create some new ones as well. (Fiction. 9-12)"
Feeling responsible for her brother's accidental death, sixth-grader Lily Mathis has not spoken for two years when storekeeper Fern's niece Tinny Bridges arrives in their small town, determined to discover Lily's secret and bringing a mystery of her own. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, MADAME CHAPEAU by Andrea Beaty
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 2, 2014

"The underlying suggestion that no one is as alone as they believe is lovely enough, but the fun of reading this aloud elevates it even more. (Picture book. 4-7)"
The world's most elegant milliner loses her birthday bonnet, and the whole city rushes to help. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HUSH, BABY GHOSTLING by Andrea Beaty
BEDTIME BOOK
Released: Aug. 4, 2009

"Although the ghostly role-reversal premise is hardly new, this is a just-sweet-enough example of it for little ones. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A mother ghost soothes her baby to sleep as dawn draws near, summoning visions of ghouls and goblins to help him in his slumber, reassuring him that the "boy / with ten pink toes, blue eyes, / and golden hair" he thinks he sees is "only make-believe." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SCHNOZ OF DOOM by Andrea Beaty
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 17, 2015

"Armageddon-averting fun for fans of Jon Scieszka's Spaceheadz and M.T. Anderson's Pals in Peril. (Adventure. 8-12)"
Can Earth again be in peril from extraterrestrial bunnies? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DOCTOR TED by Andrea Beaty
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 8, 2008

"Kids will be anxious to see what kind of fireman Ted becomes. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Ted is one prepared bear. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HIDE AND SHEEP by Andrea Beaty
ANIMALS
Released: May 3, 2011

"Beaty's amusing text teamed with Mayer's humorous artwork is one frolicking romp through numbers and naughtiness. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Farmer McFitt has lost his flock of mischievous sheep in this comical, rhymed counting book that features densely detailed illustrations that beg for repeat visits. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ATTACK OF THE FLUFFY BUNNIES by Andrea Beaty
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2010

"The hint at a possible sequel will have humorous-adventure lovers asking. (Adventure. 7-10)"
Twins Kevin and Joules Rockman are happy they're spending a week at Camp Whatsitooya on the shores of Lake Whatsosmelly, because it means they don't have to accompany their parents to the International SPAMathon. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IGGY PECK, ARCHITECT by Andrea Beaty
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2007

"Another John Lithgow she is not, nor is Iggy another Remarkable Farkle McBride (2000), but it's always salutary to see young talent vindicated. (Picture book. 6-8)"
A repressive teacher almost ruins second grade for a prodigy in this amusing, if overwritten, tale. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ADA TWIST, SCIENTIST by Andrea Beaty
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"Cool and stylish. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Her intellectual curiosity is surpassed only by her passion for science. But what to do about her messy experiments? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ROSIE REVERE, ENGINEER by Andrea Beaty
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 3, 2013

"Earnest and silly by turns, it doesn't quite capture the attention or the imagination, although surely its heart is in the right place. (historical note) (Picture book. 5-7)"
Rhymed couplets convey the story of a girl who likes to build things but is shy about it. Neither the poetry nor Rosie's projects always work well. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ARTIST TED by Andrea Beaty
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 7, 2012

"Oblivious but funny and full of gusto, Ted's bound for detective work next. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Ted's back, bursting with enthusiasm, this time throwing himself into the role of painter. Read full book review >