Search Results: "Andy Griffiths"


BOOK REVIEW

WHAT BODY PART IS THAT? by Andy Griffiths
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 13, 2012

"Occasionally clever—fifth-grade boys will love it. (Humor. 10-12)"
"There is a lot of nonsense written about the human body," writes the author, "and this book is no exception." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 11, 2011

"As promised, this book is filled with loads of 'Very Bad Stuff that Will Make Your Brain Explode!'—what could be better than that? (Poetry/graphic short stories. 7-12)"
Sometimes bad can be very, very good indeed. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CAT ON THE MAT IS FLAT by Andy Griffiths
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2007

"Definitely not your parents' easy reader, but perfect for fans of Lane Smith's Happy Hockey Family (1993). (Poetry. 6-8)"
" ‘Alas! Alack!' said Harry Black. / ‘I cannot give that yak a whack! / or he'll attack me with that tack!' " The creators of the aptly titled Just Disgusting (2004) reunite for nine rhymed romps, including the adventures of ducks Chuck and Buck and a muck-sucking truck, Ed and Ted co-habiting a shed and the pursuit of the ill-fated titular feline by a rat with a baseball bat. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FICTION
Released: Aug. 1, 1992

"Just right for Gorog fans. (Fiction/Short stories. 10+)"
Griffiths debuts with a group of scary stories that are guaranteed to shock and delight young readers with their deft plot spins and bold swashes of gore in a deceptively ``normal'' world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LAST SPY by John Griffiths
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 15, 1992

"Griffiths may have overdrawn the villains, but his young lovers and hopelessly brash Ukrainians are immensely attractive."
Soviet neo-Stalinists and a couple of highly placed Americans have one last go at preserving the cold war before democracy ruins everything—in another smart thriller by the author of The Good Spy (1990), etc. Henry Kissinger won't like this one. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE HOUSE AT SEA'S END by Elly Griffiths
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Jan. 10, 2012

"Griffiths's third (The Janus Stone, 2010, etc.) offers not only an excellent mystery but a continuing exploration of the lives of complex, sometimes unlovable characters."
The old bones discovered on a bleak and crumbling Norfolk beach lead to a number of present-day deaths. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A COUNTRY CALLED CHILDHOOD by Jay Griffiths
NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 11, 2014

"A provocative critique of modern society."
Griffiths (Wild: An Elemental Journey, 2006, etc.) focuses on the lives of children in her continued exploration of the role of nature in giving meaning to our lives. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BLOOD CARD  by Elly Griffiths
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 5, 2017

"In the third case for the Magic Men (Smoke and Mirrors, 2016, etc.), half the fun is the journey through postwar England to the surprising denouement."
A policeman, a magician, and a fortuneteller all take a hand in solving several murders in 1953 London. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Batting Rocks Over the Barn by Lawn  Griffiths
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 29, 2015

"An affectionate but facile look at family farm life."
A debut collection of vignettes about the author's childhood on an Iowa farm. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ZIG ZAG GIRL by Elly Griffiths
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 15, 2015

"Griffiths (The Ghost Fields, 2015, etc.) weaves a compelling tale rich with historical detail and a cast of eccentric characters."
A series of bizarre murders in post-World War II England appears to be connected to the Magic Men, magicians who were part of a special ops group during the war, in this whodunit set in the world of tricks and illusion. Read full book review >