Search Results: "Andy Griffiths"


BOOK REVIEW

WHAT BODY PART IS THAT? by Andy Griffiths
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 13, 2012

"Occasionally clever—fifth-grade boys will love it. (Humor. 10-12)"
"There is a lot of nonsense written about the human body," writes the author, "and this book is no exception." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 11, 2011

"As promised, this book is filled with loads of 'Very Bad Stuff that Will Make Your Brain Explode!'—what could be better than that? (Poetry/graphic short stories. 7-12)"
Sometimes bad can be very, very good indeed. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CAT ON THE MAT IS FLAT by Andy Griffiths
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2007

"Definitely not your parents' easy reader, but perfect for fans of Lane Smith's Happy Hockey Family (1993). (Poetry. 6-8)"
" ‘Alas! Alack!' said Harry Black. / ‘I cannot give that yak a whack! / or he'll attack me with that tack!' " The creators of the aptly titled Just Disgusting (2004) reunite for nine rhymed romps, including the adventures of ducks Chuck and Buck and a muck-sucking truck, Ed and Ted co-habiting a shed and the pursuit of the ill-fated titular feline by a rat with a baseball bat. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FICTION
Released: Aug. 1, 1992

"Just right for Gorog fans. (Fiction/Short stories. 10+)"
Griffiths debuts with a group of scary stories that are guaranteed to shock and delight young readers with their deft plot spins and bold swashes of gore in a deceptively ``normal'' world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

KELLY + VICTOR by Niall Griffiths
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 15, 2004

"Modern romance? More like an exorcism of writerly boredom."
The fourth from Welsh author Griffiths (Sheepshagger, 2002, etc.) gives vent to wasted urban youth via sadistic sex and feisty vernacular. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A DYING FALL by Elly Griffiths
Released: March 5, 2013

"Another gem packed with offbeat, well-developed characters and a quirky, challenging mystery."
A forensic archaeologist, a policeman and a druid pool their skills to find a murderer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CHALK PIT by Elly Griffiths
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 30, 2017

"Like its predecessors (The Woman in Blue, 2016, etc.), Griffith's ninth is complex and character-driven, providing an excellent mystery whose very last sentence will leave you yearning for the next installment."
The discovery of some not-so-old bones opens up surprising possibilities of a mysterious underground world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Batting Rocks Over the Barn by Lawn  Griffiths
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 29, 2015

"An affectionate but facile look at family farm life."
A debut collection of vignettes about the author's childhood on an Iowa farm. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ZIG ZAG GIRL by Elly Griffiths
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 15, 2015

"Griffiths (The Ghost Fields, 2015, etc.) weaves a compelling tale rich with historical detail and a cast of eccentric characters."
A series of bizarre murders in post-World War II England appears to be connected to the Magic Men, magicians who were part of a special ops group during the war, in this whodunit set in the world of tricks and illusion. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WILD by Jay Griffiths
NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 1, 2007

"Griffith's love for words and her skill in using them, her easy familiarity with a host of poets, novelists, naturalists and anthropologists, her openness to new experiences and her willingness to reveal so much of herself, make this a fascinating journey."
An exuberant and erudite exploration of the meaning of wilderness and its place in our lives. Read full book review >