Search Results: "Andy Griffiths"


BOOK REVIEW

WHAT BODY PART IS THAT? by Andy Griffiths
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 13, 2012

"Occasionally clever—fifth-grade boys will love it. (Humor. 10-12)"
"There is a lot of nonsense written about the human body," writes the author, "and this book is no exception." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 11, 2011

"As promised, this book is filled with loads of 'Very Bad Stuff that Will Make Your Brain Explode!'—what could be better than that? (Poetry/graphic short stories. 7-12)"
Sometimes bad can be very, very good indeed. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CAT ON THE MAT IS FLAT by Andy Griffiths
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2007

"Definitely not your parents' easy reader, but perfect for fans of Lane Smith's Happy Hockey Family (1993). (Poetry. 6-8)"
" ‘Alas! Alack!' said Harry Black. / ‘I cannot give that yak a whack! / or he'll attack me with that tack!' " The creators of the aptly titled Just Disgusting (2004) reunite for nine rhymed romps, including the adventures of ducks Chuck and Buck and a muck-sucking truck, Ed and Ted co-habiting a shed and the pursuit of the ill-fated titular feline by a rat with a baseball bat. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FICTION
Released: Aug. 1, 1992

"Just right for Gorog fans. (Fiction/Short stories. 10+)"
Griffiths debuts with a group of scary stories that are guaranteed to shock and delight young readers with their deft plot spins and bold swashes of gore in a deceptively ``normal'' world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

KELLY + VICTOR by Niall Griffiths
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 15, 2004

"Modern romance? More like an exorcism of writerly boredom."
The fourth from Welsh author Griffiths (Sheepshagger, 2002, etc.) gives vent to wasted urban youth via sadistic sex and feisty vernacular. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A DYING FALL by Elly Griffiths
Released: March 5, 2013

"Another gem packed with offbeat, well-developed characters and a quirky, challenging mystery."
A forensic archaeologist, a policeman and a druid pool their skills to find a murderer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CHALK PIT by Elly Griffiths
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 30, 2017

"Like its predecessors (The Woman in Blue, 2016, etc.), Griffith's ninth is complex and character-driven, providing an excellent mystery whose very last sentence will leave you yearning for the next installment."
The discovery of some not-so-old bones opens up surprising possibilities of a mysterious underground world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PRESIDENTIAL ARCHIVE by John Griffiths
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Aug. 1, 1996

"An overly chatty postCold War thriller with a truly dysfunctional family at its improbable core."
Could the man most likely to be the next US president be a former KGB spy? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SHEEPSHAGGER by Niall Griffiths
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 6, 2002

"Powerful, mostly successful mix of primordial savagery and contemporary malaise told in fierce prose."
Griffiths comes storming out of Wales, much as James Kelman and Irvine Welsh have from Scotland, in an angry, violent, lyrical American debut about a rural killer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TRISTIMANIA by Jay Griffiths
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 14, 2016

"Fortunately for everyone who has been affected by bipolar disorder, Griffiths—and her notebooks—survived the journey."
A visceral account of the turmoil experienced within a manic-depressive breakdown. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION

"An inspirational, fascinating chronicle of a family's will to survive."
The Guggenheim's family story as a lesson in world history. Read full book review >