Search Results: "Andy Wagner"


BOOK REVIEW

THE ADVENTURES OF LITTLE NUTBROWN HARE by Sam McBratney
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 28, 2012

"Required reading for all young children taking their first ventures into the wide world beyond immediate parental reach. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Little Nutbrown Hare bravely ventures out to the Far Field and back in four sweet new outings illustrated "in the style of" Anita Jeram. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ARCHIE THE DAREDEVIL PENGUIN by Andy Rash
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 22, 2015

"Silly and charming. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Archie's fearless and daring adventures have earned him the congratulations and admiration of the other penguins. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE STARRY GIRAFFE by Andy Bergmann
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 13, 2017

"A gracious, humorous exploration of generosity and gratitude. (Picture book. 3-5)"
A hungry giraffe plucks apple after apple for a steady stream of friends, until the tree is bare and she is tired—but she will eat soon! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SEIZURE by Erica Wagner
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 1, 2007

"Wagner's clean, sturdy prose imparts an inevitability to what is taboo, but some gratuitous mystification prevents a complete surrender to her spell."
The elemental passions of two siblings fuel this first novel, whose contemporary trappings fall away to reveal a fable outside time. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE EMPTY CHAIR by Bruce Wagner
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 26, 2013

"Wagner meditates on our fundamental cravings for connections—both human and divine—and meanings—both personal and cosmic—with wit, compassion and a sharp eye for the lies we tell ourselves."
Casting himself as a story collector, Wagner links two novellas, two narratives separated in time yet bound by a common motif: the empty chair, where loss, grief and death are seated. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WHITE ASSASSIN by Hilary Wagner
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"The ending satisfies, but there are some definite loose ends. Look forward to more adventures in Nightshade City. (Animal fantasy. 9-12)"
The second installment of The Nightshade Chronicles doesn't disappoint. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FORCE MAJEURE by Bruce Wagner
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 1, 1991

"Richly done boffo winner."
Smashing debut novel in which screenwriter Bud Wiggin, a Thomas Wolfe for failed screenwriters, seems to be a stand-in for author Wagner—screenwriter of the stupid but successful Scenes from the Class Struggle in Beverly Hills and Nightmare on Elm Street 3. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Conquest Defiled by Robert Wagner
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 4, 2013

"A tale of war, love and religious strife by a promising new novelist."
A young man struggles against family, church and state to find love and a life of his own. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 1, 2009

"Unflinching, humorous and heartfelt."
Print and public-radio journalist Wagner describes rebuilding after Hurricane Katrina. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NIGHTSHADE CITY by Hilary Wagner
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2010

"A good story well-told. (Animal fantasy. 10-14)"
Fans of Suzanne Collins's Underland Chronicles and Brian Jacques's Redwall series will enjoy this fast-paced adventure set deep in the Catacombs, where a community of intelligent rats lives in peace and harmony. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CHRYSANTHEMUM PALACE by Bruce Wagner
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 1, 2005

"Smart, high-gloss slur of fame, drugs and the fateful weight of family."
A recovering addict, an egomaniacal actor with daddy issues, and an underperforming wannabe make for a particularly LA dysfunctional trio. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RECYCLING WITH ARNIE AND BING by Ann Wagner
FICTION
Released: Aug. 25, 2010

"An endearingly homespun tale that could nevertheless better balance its entertainment and education."
Aimed at elementary schoolers, Wagner's heartwarming salute to recycling features the reincarnation of a friendly bottle and can. Read full book review >