Search Results: "Anita Hughes"


BOOK REVIEW

CHRISTMAS IN PARIS by Anita Hughes
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 4, 2016

"A charming modern-day fairy-tale romance."
After a bride calls off her Christmas wedding days before the ceremony, she comforts herself by taking the planned honeymoon in Paris, then finds herself navigating romance with the help of a fortuneteller and the jilted groom in the suite next door. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MARKET STREET by Anita Hughes
Released: March 26, 2013

"A warm, sparkling and heartfelt novel that explores the power of second chances in life, in love and in following our dreams."
Ten years ago, just out of college, San Francisco department store heiress Cassie Blake chose a life in Berkeley as a professor's wife and a volunteer in an educational organic garden; now her husband might be cheating, and her mother is luring her back to Fenton's with a gourmet food emporium. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

SETTLING IN FOR A WARM WINTER’S READ
by Bobbi Dumas

Wow. Can you believe Christmas is nearly here?

I haven’t had the chance to read many Christmas books this year (sad sigh) but my favorite so far was Christmas in Paris by Anita Hughes.

I find this author completely charming, and since I love Christmas, and I adore anything related to Paris, this was practically a must-read for me. (It ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

LENA'S SLEEP SHEEP by Anita Lobel
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 6, 2013

"A lovely 'Going-to-Bed Book' indeed. (Picture book. 2-5)"
When Lena's parents tuck her into bed, she inadvertently unleashes a bit of ovine chaos by asking them to leave the curtains open so she can see the full moon. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HELLO, DAY! by Anita Lobel
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 2008

"One hopes there's a companion book for evening just around the corner. (Picture book. 1-4)"
Lobel once again demonstrates that in the hands of a skilled creator, simple is best. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANIMAL ANTICS by Anita Lobel
ABC BOOKS
Released: Sept. 1, 2005

"A charming and literary frolic through a carnival of letters, descriptive adjectives and critters. (Picture book. 3-5)"
This bright, bold alphabet concept book offers a circus tent of animal favorites dressed in a variety of hats and accessories below a series of agile acrobats contorting their bodies into the shapes of all 26 letters. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A MOON IN MY TEACUP by Anita Riggio
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 1993

A nostalgic re-creation of a visit to grandparents at Christmastime a generation or so ago—with carol-singing on the way, the smell of cookies in the ample Victorian home, and tea with biscotti. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EVERYONE IS YAWNING by Anita Bijsterbosch
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 9, 2016

"Irresistibly somniferous. (Pop-up picture book. 2-8)"
One animal after another yawns with the lift of a flap…even the small child at the end. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ONE LIGHTHOUSE, ONE MOON by Anita Lobel
ANIMALS
Released: April 30, 2000

"There's neither a missing elementary concept nor a jarring fly in the ointment of this bewitching cat's charmed life. (Picture book. 4-6)"
In three short chapters of just a few words each, Lobel demonstrates her artistry for choosing the right ingredients to create a perfect concept book around the life of a small gray-striped cat. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ON A SCALE FROM IDIOT TO COMPLETE JERK by Alison Hughes
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2014

"Though it attempts Diary of a Wimpy Kid, it achieves lengthy science report. Skippable. (Fiction. 9-12)"
Can a scientific study explain jerk-ish behavior, and will it earn J.J. a passing grade? Read full book review >